Clinch County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Clinch County, Georgia)

United States  Gotoarrow-kelly.png  Georgia  Gotoarrow-kelly.png  Clinch County

Guide to Clinch County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Clinch County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Clinch County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded February 14, 1850
County Seat Homerville
Address Clinch County Courthouse
100 Court Square
Homerville, GA 31634
Phone: 912.487.2667
Clinch County Website


County Courthouse

Clinch County Georgia Courthouse.jpg
Clinch County Courthouse
100 Court Square
Homerville, GA 31634
Phone: 912.487.2667

Probate Court has birth and death records from 1919, marriage and probate records from 1867; Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1867, land records from 1868, voters list from 1890 and old county newspapers from 1895.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
P.O. Box 433
25 Court Sq., Suite C
Homerville, GA 31634
Phone: (912) 487-5854

Probate Court of Clinch County
P.O. Box 364
Homerville, GA 31634
Phone:(912) 487-5523

Beginning Dates for Clinch County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate



Parent County

1850--Clinch County was created 14 February 1850 from Ware and Lowndes Counties.
County seat:  Homerville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1856 and 1867. The courthouse was destroyed by fire in June 1856, and in September of 1867 its replacement also burned. None of the courthouse records remain from before those fires.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

[[Atkinson County, Georgia Genealogy|Atkinson] County]  • Baker County  • Columbia County  • Echols County  • Lanier County  • Ware County

Clinch CountyEchols CountyLanier CountyLowndes CountyBrooks CountyColquitt CountyCook CountyTift CountyBerrien CountyAtkinson CountyCoffee CountyWare CountyPierce CountyBrantley CountyCharlton CountyBaker CountyColumbia CountySuwannee CountyHamilton CountyMadison CountyJefferson CountyLafayette CountyTaylor CountyGAClinch.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records



Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Clinch County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Huxford, Folks. History of Clinch County, Georgia: Revised to Date: Giving the Early History of the County Down to the Present Time (1916), Also Complete Lists of County Officers, Together with Minor Officers and Also Sketches of County Officers' Lives, with Chapters on the Histories of Old Families of Clinch County, Also Other Information as is Historical in Its Nature. Macon, Ga.: J.W. Burke Co., 1916. Digital version at Ancestry ($).




Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Clinch County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Clinch County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 26th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company H
- 29th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies C, D, and E
- 50th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company G
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project (also War of 1812 - 1883 Pensions)

  • History of Clinch County, Georgia: revised to date, giving the early history of the county down to the present time (1916). 1916. Macon, Georgia: J.W. Burke (page 56-70) 975.8812 H2h
  • Georgia. Superior Court (Clinch County). 1966. Confederate roster of Clinch Co., 1862. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 456005 item 1
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Clinch County). 1966. Confederate pension roll, 1896 - 1920. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 470002 item 1



Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clinch County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  • 1888-1904 -  Wills 1888-1904 (digital images). See Names of Testators. Georgia Pioneers ($)


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records
  • 1867-1874 - Index to Clinch County Marriages 1867-1874 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • 1867-1889 - Clinch County Marriage Index 1867-1889. Batch M712531 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1874-1889 - Index to Clinch County Marriage Licenses 1874-1889 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • 1875-1895 - Clinch County Marriage Index 1875-1895. Batch M712532 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death Records
  • 1869-70, 1879-80 - Clinch County, Georgia Genealogy Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clinch County, Georgia. Page 153 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 20-21. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 November 2015, at 22:00.
  • This page has been accessed 17,026 times.