Clinton County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Clinton County

Guide to Clinton County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Clinton County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 29, 1830
County Seat Frankfort
Courthouse
Address Clinton County Courthouse
265 Courthouse Square
Frankfort IN 46041
Phone: 765.659.6335
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1830*
1882*
1829
1830
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries


Neighboring Counties

Carroll  • Howard  • Tipton  • Hamilton  • Boone  • Montgomery  • Tippecanoe

White CountyMiami CountyWabash CountyCass CountyCarroll CountyBoone CountyMontgomery CountyTippecanoe CountyHoward CountyClinton CountyTipton CountyHamilton CountyINClinton.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

For tips on accessing Clinton County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clinton County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Clinton County, Indiana. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.


  • History of Clinton County, Indiana: Together with Sketches of Its Cities, Villages and Towns, Educational, Religious, Civil, Military, and Political History, Portraits of Prominent Persons, and Biographies of Representative Citizens : Also a Condensed History of Indiana. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic, Inc, 1977.) 977.2553 H2h FHL US/CAN Book FHL  other librariesINTERNET ARCHIVE

For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Indiana Local Histories.


Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents. 


Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clinton County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Clinton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Clinton County.


Civil War Book

  • "Slavery, And Indiana In The War Of The Rebellion" and "The Civil War" Chapter 9 in History of Clinton County, Indiana: Together with Sketches of Its Cities, Villages and Towns, Educational, Religious, Civil, Military, and Political History, Portraits of Prominent Persons, and Biographies of Representative Citizens : Also a Condensed History of Indiana. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic, Inc, 1977.) page 144-198; 373-393; 977.2553 H2h FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection  other librariesINTERNET ARCHIVE
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clinton County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Clinton County Courthouse
265 Courthouse Square
Frankfort IN 46041
Phone: 765.659.6335

County Health Department has birth and death records.
County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1830,
divorce and court records from 1888.
County Recorder has has land records. [1]

Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

School Records

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.


For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Clinton County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the Clinton County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records
  • Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
  • Death Records - INGenWeb

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clinton County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Voter Registration

Web Sites

Populated Places

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clinton County, Indiana 211 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 December 2014, at 13:33.
  • This page has been accessed 16,354 times.