Clinton County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Clinton County

Guide to Clinton County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Clinton County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 2, 1833
County Seat Plattsburg
Courthouse
Address Clinton County Courthouse
211 N Main Street
PO Box 245
Plattsburg, MO 64477-0245
Phone: 816.539.3719
Clinton County Website

Contents

County Courthouse



County Clerk has marriage, divorce, court and land records
from 1833 and military records from 1919; Probate Judge
has probate records[1]

History

Parent County

1833--Clinton County was created 2 January 1833 from Clay County. County seat: Plattsburg [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

COUNTY BUILDING DAMAGED

PLATTSBURG, Mo. (AP) - Fire destroyed the top floor of the 80-year-old Clinton County Courthouse here Friday, but county officials say most government records were saved. ... The sheriff said he lost all of his arrest records and a two-way radio system. ... County Collector Carl Joson said the county's tax records could be salvaged because they were kept in a vault, but everything in the office except his brass spittoon was destroyed. ...

The Daily Capital News, Jefferson City, MO 15 Jun 1974
(source:GenDisasters)

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cameron, Missouri. Population over 9,000 (this includes the prison.)

Neighboring Counties

Buchanan  • Caldwell  • Clay  • Dekalb  • Platte  • Ray

DeKalb CountyDeKalb CountyAndrew CountyHolt CountyGentry CountyJackson CountyClay CountyNodaway CountyDaviess CountyGrundy CountyLivingston CountyWyandotte CountyAtchison CountyDoniphan CountyBrown CountyPlatte CountyLeavenworth CountyJefferson CountyRay CountyLafayette CountyCaldwell CountyCarroll CountyClinton CountyMOClinton1.JPG


Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Cameron Memory Gardens. East of Cameron on Grand Avenue or "Old 36 Hwy" This is Cameron's newest Cemetery.

Census

For tips on accessing Clinton County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Baptist

Cameron First Baptist Church

Catholic

St. Ann's, Plattsburg

  • 1868-1876 - St. Ann's, Plattsburg, Baptism Index 1868-1876. Batch C511761 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1869-1885 - St. Ann's, Plattsburg, Marriage Index 1869-1885. Batch M511761 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints in Cameron

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Clinton County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

The History of Clinton County, Missouri: containing a history of the County ... (1881) is available online free from Google Books.

A Portrait and biographical record of Buchanan and Clinton counties, Missouri containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens... (1893) is available online free from Google Books. The first part of the book contains biographies of the U.S. presidents. The second part, starting on p.111, contains biographies Buchanan and Clinton county residents.

Maps

Moclinton.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 48th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
:- 48th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
:- 48th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
:- 48th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
:- 4th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
:- 6th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company F

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clinton County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1863-1875 - Clinton County Birth Index 1863-1875. Batch C514801 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1865 - Clinton County Birth Index, Volumes B and C, 1865. Batch C514802 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
  • 1847-1881 - Clinton County Marriage Books B thru C Index 1847-1881. Batch M514802 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1881-1885 - Clinton County Marriage Book 2 Index 1881-1885. Batch M514803 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths
  • Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
  • 1883-1888 - Clinton County Death Index 1883-1888. Batch B514854 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Clinton County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Clinton County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Clinton County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Clinton County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Clinton County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Clinton County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clinton County, Missouri. Page 399 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 3.6 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 June 2014, at 21:41.
  • This page has been accessed 9,137 times.