Clive, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  ShropshireGotoarrow.png  Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Clive, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Clive, Shropshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Albrighton Division
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Wem PLU
Registration District Wem
Records begin
Parish registers: 1671
Bishop's Transcripts: 1708
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wem
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Royal Peculiar of St Mary Shrewsbury
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CLIVE, a chapelry, in the parish of St. Mary, liberties of the town of Shrewsbury, union of Wem, N.division of Shropshire, 3½ miles (S.) from Wem. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Clive parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3][4]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
CLIVE PARISH (1671) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1671-1738

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IARC 1671-1812
1671-1812
1671-1812
IGI 1667-1867
JOIN
1671-1738

MLOC 1671-1812
1671-1812
1671-1812

Clive and Sanshaw

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1813-1868 Marr none Bur  1813-1868 Missing all events 1853-1854, 1857-1861

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474591.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 639-644. Date accessed: 01 June 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 April 2014.
  6. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 17:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,630 times.