Close of the Collegiate Church of St Peter, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Close of the Collegiate Church of St Peter

Guide to Close of the Collegiate Church of St Peter, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Close of the Collegiate Church of St Peter, Middlesex
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westminster
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union St George Hanover Square PLU
Registration District Westminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1606
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Westminster.-- parl. bor. and city, Middlesex, on N. bank of river Thames, in W. of London, 2546 ac., The parl. limits include the parish of St James Westminster, St Margaret and St John the Evangelist Westminster, St George Hanover Square. St Anne Soho, St Martin in the Fields', &c. Westminster is the seat of government and the residence of royalty, and contains, besidesWestminster Abbey, the Houses of Parliamen't, St James's Palace, Buckingham Palace, &c. It was formerly separated from the city of London by Temple Bar. etc.[1]

The Close of the Collegiate Church of St Peter, Westminster, was an extra-parochial enclave or place situated jurisdictionally between St John [the Evangelist] and St Margaret, Westminster, but lying within Westminster Abbey's boundary.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438841.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Close of the Collegiate Church in Westminster Abbey on GENUKI

References

  1. John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles 1887.Adapted. Date accessed: 27 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:32.
  • This page has been accessed 2,091 times.