Clovelly, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Clovelly, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Clovelly, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hartland
County Devon
Poor Law Union Bideford PLU
Registration District Bideford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1686
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hartland
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CLOVELLY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Bideford, hundred of Hartland, Great Torrington and N. divisions of Devon, 11 miles (W. by S.) from Bideford. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriage and death records have been kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
CLOVELLY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1686-1838 None 1686-1837 None 1686-1820 None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241312.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 644-647. Date accessed: 25 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,885 times.