Clwyd Family History Society Resource CentreEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngWrexhamGotoarrow.pngClwyd Family History Society Resource Centre

Clwyd Family History Society
Cymdeithas Hanes Teuluoedd Clwyd
Established 1980
Contact Info
Address Resource Centre, Community Enterprise Centre, Well Street, Cefn Mawr, WREXHAM, Wales, LL14 3AL.
Email secretary@clwydfhs.org.uk
Website www.clwydfhs.org.uk
Members 1100+
Affiliations Association of Family History Societies of Wales; Federation of Family History Societies
px


The Clwyd Family History Society - Cymdeithas Hanes Teuluoedd Clwyd was founded in 1980 to encourage the study of genealogy and family history in north-east Wales.

The former County of Clwyd existed between 1974 and 1996 and was created by merging the ancient counties of Flintshire, most of Denbighshire, and part of Merionethshire.

The society's Resource Centre in Cefn Mawr, in the south of the County Borough of Wrexham, was opened in June 2004 within the Community Enterprise Centre. The part of the building used by the society is self contained and offers disabled access and toilet facilities. It has a small kitchen to prepare hot drinks, and a members’ room where food can be eaten. The 'Community Cafe' is next door and offers a wide variety of light snacks and sandwiches.

The Clwyd FHS has transcribed, indexed and published copies of all the parish registers within its area, up to 1812 (and in many cases, up to 1837 and beyond). This project is ongoing and updates of new publications are available in the journal or on the society website. The society has also undertaken to record and publish Monumental Inscriptions and we would welcome volunteers to co-ordinate the project and to assist with transcribing.

Copies of all the society publications are available to purchase or can be studied at the centre.

The society also publishes a quarterly journal Hel Achau which contains a good mix of articles and information. Members are able to make free use of the Help Wanted and Members' Interests pages.

The Centre is available to Society members only, however, non-members may join the Society on their first visit. The current annual membership fee is £15.

Clwyd Family History Society Resource Centre,
Community Enterprise Centre,
Well Street,
Cefn Mawr,
WREXHAM,
LL14 3AL

Directions

There are good travel links by car, bus, or train to the centre:

By car - The centre is a few minutes drive off the A483 road, via the exit to the south of Ruabon. Then take the road to Rhosymedre and turn off towards Cefn Mawr.

By train - Ruabon station is served by two routes with frequent services:

  • Birmingham New Street or Shrewsbury to Chester - via Ruabon and Wrexham General. (Arriva Trains Wales)
  • Cardiff Central to Holyhead - via Ruabon, Wrexham General, Chester and Bangor. (Arriva Trains Wales)

Connections to the centre can then be made by bus from Ruabon station.

By bus - Arriva Cymru bus services 2, 2A and 2C all stop directly outside the centre in Well Street and connect to Ruabon railway station. There is a service every 15 minutes during the day. Wrexham bus info

Maps:

Opening Hours

  • Tuesdays - from 10.00 a.m. to 7.00 p.m.
  • Thursdays - from 10.00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m.
  • Saturdays - from 10.00 a.m. to 2.00 p.m.

External links


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 June 2013, at 10:24.
  • This page has been accessed 5,554 times.