Clyst Honiton, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Clyst Honiton, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Clyst Honiton, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Budleigh
County Devon
Poor Law Union St Thomas PLU
Registration District St Thomas
Records begin
Parish registers: 1683
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aylesbeare
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court A Peculiar of the Court of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CLIST-HONITON, a parish in St. Thomas district, Devon; on the river Clist, and on the Yeovil and Exeter railway, 1 mile WSW of Broad-Clist railway station, and 4 ENE of Exeter. Post town, Broad-Clist, under Exeter. The church is a fine old edifice of nave, chancel, and north aisle, with lofty western tower; and has a very ancient font.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Clyst Honiton, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Clyst Honiton, Devon Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1682-1875 1683-1874

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241304.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales published in 1870-72. Date Accessed 25 October 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,973 times.