Clyst St Laurence, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Clyst St Laurence, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Clyst St Laurence, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cliston
County Devon
Poor Law Union St Thomas PLU
Registration District St Thomas
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Plymtree
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CLIST-ST. LAWRENCE, a parish in St. Thomas district, Devon; on the river Clist, 2½ miles ESE of Hele railway station, and 4 SSE of Collumpton. Post town, Collumpton. The church is later English; consists of nave and chancel, with lofty western tower; has an ancient screen and roodloft.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241305.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. John M. Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales published in 1870-72. Date Accessed 25 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,665 times.