Cobb County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Cobb County
Guide to Cobb County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Cobb County, Georgia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of [[Georgia]] | |
![]() Location of Georgia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 3, 1832 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Marietta |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Cobb County Courthouse 100 Cherokee Street Marietta, GA 30060 Phone 770.528.3300 Cobb County Website |
Contents |
Cobb County Georgia Courthouse
Probate Court has marriage, death and probate reocrds 1865;
Clerk Superopr Court has land and divorce records; Magistrate
Court has court records[1]
Cobb County Georgia History
Local histories are available for Cobb County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Parent County
1832--Cobb County was created 3 December 1832 from Cherokee County. County seat: Marietta [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1864 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Cobb County Georgia Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Cobb County Georgia Genealogy Resources
African American
- 1874-1943 - Cobb County Colored Marriage Licenses and Old Affidavits Index 1874-1943. Batch M002535 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1879-1905 - Cobb County Colored Marriage Books A thru C Index 1879-1905. Batch M002533 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1905-1935 - Cobb County Colored Marriage Books C thru E Index 1905-1935. Batch M002534 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Cemeteries
The Marietta National Cemetery is the gravesite for 10,172 officers and soldiers who died in defense of the Union 1861 to 1865. This site has the photos of headstones at the graves.
- Marietta, Georgia, Marietta National Cemetery, 1866-2010. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
BillionGraves: Google map, photos, transcritptions of each cemetery.
Mars Hill Presbyterian Church Registry, Acworth, Georgia, 1837-1874 Georgia Pioneers ($)
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Court
The Brantley Association of America Project has digitized and indexed many records from the Cobb County Courthouse including:
- Marriage Records, 1865 - 1937
- Homestead Book, 1866 - 1928
- Estate Records, 1866 - 1900
- Wills, 1866 - 1918
- Minute Books, 1865 - 1901
- Minute Book A, 1865-1871 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Confederate Pensions, 1891 - 1920
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Maps
Marriages
1865-1886 (from newspapers) Georgia Pioneers ($)
1865-1937 Index to Groom Names Georgia Pioneers ($)
Military
Civil War
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Cobb County.
- June 9-July 3, 1864 = Marietta (Operations), also known as Marietta Operations[4]
- June 22, 1864 = Kolb's Farm[5]
- June 27, 1864 = Kennesaw Mountain[6]
- Map showing Civil War battles in Georgia.
World War II Military Registrants Georgia Pioneers ($)
Newspapers
Newsapers Extracts and Abstracts
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cobb County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog. Do a Place search for Cobb County, Georgia to find these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Divorces 1885-1886 Georgia Pioneers ($)
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Wills 1857-1904 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers ($)
Estates, folder collection at Cobb County Court House, 1865-1925 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers ($)
Estates, Miscellaneous in the Inferior Court 1865-1873 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers ($)
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Marriage
- 1865-1890 - Cobb County Marriage Books A thru C Index 1865-1890. Batch M002530 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1890-1911 - Cobb County Marriage Books D and E Index 1890-1911. Batch M002531 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1911-1926 - Cobb County Marriage Books F thru H Index 1911-1926. Batch M002532 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
- 1859-60, 1869-70 - Cobb County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Cobb County Georgia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Cobb County Georgia Genealogy Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Cobb County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers ($)
Cobb County Georgia Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cobb County, Georgia. Page 153 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
| This Georgia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 25 May 2013, at 05:05.
- This page has been accessed 2,173 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

