Cochise County, ArizonaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go toArizona go to Cochise County

Guide to Cochise County Arizona genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Arizona
Online Records


Cochise County, Arizona
Map
Map of Arizona highlighting Cochise County
Location in the state of Arizona
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arizona
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 1, 1881
County Seat Bisbee
Courthouse
Address 100 Quality Hill Road
Bisbee, AZ 85603
Phone: (520) 432-8570
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Cochise County, Arizona

Contents

County Courthouse

Cochise County Courthouse
P O Box CK,
Bisbee, Az 85603
Phone 520-432-9200

Clerk Superior Court has marriage divorce, probate and court records
County Records has land records[1]

"The main office in Bisbee is the records repository. We are open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, except for government holidays. Many of our older records are stored in an upstairs Archives Section. There may be a wait of up to an hour when asked to retrieve these records so please be prepared for this." [2]

"Cochise County, Clerk of the Superior Court" Marriage, Divorce and Probate Records
100 Quality Hill
P.O. Box CK
Bisbee, AZ 85603
Phone: 520-432-8570
Fax: 520-432-4850

The Clerk of the Superior Court officially maintains all civil, domestic, criminal, juvenile and probate records. The Clerk takes and transcribes all court minutes for all court proceedings; is the Registrar of Probate matters; issues and records marriage licenses.

Cochise County Recorder Land Records and Voting
1415 Melody Lane Bldg. B
Bisbee, AZ 85603
Phone: (520) 432-8350
Fax: (520) 432-8368

"Instruments recorded include real estate transactions, mortgages, deed of trust, family trusts, personal property, tax liens, mining locations, subdivision plats, records of survey, military discharges, official appointments of office, and other documents required to be made of public record. The second major duty concerns elections since the County Recorder is also the registrar of voters for the county. This involves maintaining the county register, conducting early voting, verifying petition signatures, lists for political parties and candidates, and jury lists."[3]

History

“Cochise County is one of only three counties in the State without an Indian Reservation. The County is comprised of 6,251 square miles, with the City of Bisbee serving as the County seat since 1929.” [4] From creation of the county till 1929, Tombstone AZ was the county seat.

Arizona Genealogy and History, Cochise County History.

Parent County

  • 1 February 1881- Cochise County was created from Pima County.[14][15] This county named for Cochise, the great Apache warrior who had died seven years before. Look for records in Cochise and Pima counties.

Boundary Changes

14 Mar 1968 - Cochise County gained a very small amount of land from Santa Cruz County when the boundary was redefined to run along the east line of range 18 east.[16] Look for records in Cochise and Santa Cruz counties.

See also Previous Jurisdictions to land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.

For animated maps illustrating Arizona county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps" (1852-1993) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arizona counties see: Arizona Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Apache Campstone Elfrida Lowell Rileys El Encinar
Apache Flats Cascabel Fairbank (hist.) Luzena Saginaw
Bakerville Cavalay Park Fenner Manzoro Saint David
Benson Cazador Forrest McNeal San Simon
Benson Junction Chamiso Fry Mescal Sierra Vista
Bernardino (hist.) Charleston (hist.) Ft. Huachuca Miracle Valley Signal Village
Bisbee Chiricahua Galena Naco South Bisbee
Bisbee Junction Cochise Galeyville Neff Stark
Black Bear spring Contention Gleeson Nicksville Sunizona
Black Diamond Coronado Village Grizzles Orchard Olga Sunnyside
Bledsoe Corta Junction Hereford Palominas Tintown
Bonnie blink Courtland Highland Park Paradise Tombstone
Boquillas Curtiss Hilltop Paul Spur Tully
Bowie De Anza Village Hookeers Hot Springs Pearce Vanar
Bowie Junction (hist.) Don Luis Huachuca City Pirtleville Village Meadows
Bradberry Dos Cabezas Huachuca Terrace Pomerene Warren
Briggs Double Adobe Johnson Portal Whetstone
Buckeye Mill Douglas Kansas Settlement Ramsey Willcox
Calumet Dragoon Lewis Springs Raso Yellow Hammer Mill
























Neighboring Counties

Resources

Biographies

Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records, Biographical Index Search

Cemeteries

Census

Early School Census Records from the Cochise Genealogical Society.

1864 Territorial Census (A-Z) from the Cochise Genealogical Society.

The 1890 Territorial Great Register (A-Z) from the Cochise Genealogical Society.

Paper copies of specific pages of the Federal population census can be ordered through the National Archives in Washington, DC either online (using NARA's Microfilm Catalog) or you can download the NATF Form 82, print it, and send it through the mail.

How to Use NARA's Census Microfilm Catalogs

Census
Roll Number

Microfilm Publication Number

Eighth census of the United States, 1860, New Mexico Territory
712
M653
Ninth census of the United States, 1870, Arizona Territory
46
M593
“Microfilmed indexes for the 1880 and 1900-1930 censuses use the soundex indexing system.” [17]


Tenth census of the United States, 1880, Pima County

T735
Eleventh census of the United States, 1890 (“A Department of Commerce fire in 1921 destroyed most of the 1890 census.” [18]
-
-
Twelfth census of the United States, 1900, Cochise County (Apache, Cochise, Coconino, Gila, Graham, and Maricopa (part: EDs 23--25 and ED 26, sheets 1--10) Counties)
45
T623
Thirteenth census of the United States, 1910, Cochise County (Apache & Cochise Counties)
38
T264
Fourteenth census of the United States, 1920, Cochise County (EDs 20-33, 130, 34, 131, 35-37)
46-47
M1549
Fifteenth census of the United States, 1930, Cochise County
55-56
T626

For tips on accessing Cochise County, Arizona census records online, see: Arizona Census.

Churches

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arizona denominations, view the Arizona Church Records wiki page. LDS Ward and Branch Records: Bisbee, Douglas, Miramonte, Pomerene, St. David, San Pedro and Whitewater.

Court System

Justice Court No. 1 (Bisbee)
207 N. Judd Dr., Bisbee, Arizona 85603
Phone: 520-432-9540

Justice Court No. 2 (Douglas)
661 G Ave., Douglas, Arizona 85607
Phone: 520-805-5640

Justice Court No. 3 (Benson)
126 W. 5th Street, Ste. 1, Benson, Arizona 85602
Phone: 520-586-8100

Justice Court No. 4 (Willcox)
450 S. Haskell Ave., Willcox, Arizona 85644
Phone: 520-384-7000

Justice Court No. 5 (Sierra Vista)
100 Colonia De Salud, Ste. 108, Sierra Vista, Arizona
Phone: 520-803-3800

Justice Court No. 6 (Bowie)
201 N. Central Ave., Bowie, Arizona 85605
Phone: 520-847-2303

Superior Court Divisions I-III (Bisbee)
100 Quality Hill, 1st Floor, Bisbee, Arizona 85603
Phone: 520-432-8520

Superior Court Division IV (Sierra Vista)
100 Colonia De Salud, Suite 108, Sierra Vista, Arizona
Phone: 520-803-3800

Superior Court Division V (Bisbee)
4 Ledge Ave., 2nd Floor, Bisbee, Arizona 85603
Phone: 520-432-8480


"Cochise County’s records date back to Territorial days when it was carved out of a portion of Pima County on February 1, 1881. Records are available for you to research in person, free of charge at the courthouse in Bisbee. If you want the Clerk’s office to research a record for you it will cost $26.00 for each search request (Arizona law governs our fees). Our records index is available electronically, for certain case types, dating back to 1996. If you find your case number or book and page number for a marriage record it will save you $26.00 in research fees."[19]   Public Access to Court Information

Immigration

Arizona USGenWeb Archives, Cochise County Naturalizations - Declarations of Intent 1881-1897

National Archives and Records Administration has microfilm publications related to Mexican Border Crossing Records for Arizona and a few other states. 

Arizona Ports

Ajo Arizona

A3377, Manifests of Alien Arrivals at Ajo, Lukeville, and Sonoyta (Sonoita), Arizona, Jan. 1919-Dec. 1952, and at Los Ebanos, Texas, Dec. 1950-May 1955 (2 rolls) - "Contains over 6,400 alien arrivals at these Arizona ports of entry. Arrivals at Ajo are interfiled with those from Lukeville and Sonoyta (Sonoita) on rolls 1 and 2 in four record series: (1) index to manifests of aliens admitted for permanent residence, Jan. 1919-June 1924; (2) manifests of aliens admitted for permanent residence, Jan. 1919-June 1924; (3) manifests of aliens admitted for permanent residence and aliens readmitted as returning U.S. residents, July 1924-ca. Dec. 1952; and (4) manifests of aliens admitted temporarily, July 1924-ca. Dec. 1952. Series 1, 3, and 4 are alphabetically arranged. Series 2 is chronologically arranged, but is indexed by Series 1." [20]

Aros Ranch, Arizona

A3365, Lists of Aliens Arriving at Brownsville, Del Rio, Eagle Pass, El Paso, Laredo, Presidio, Rio Grande City, and Roma, Texas, May 1903-June 1909, and at Aros Ranch, Douglas, Lochiel, Naco, and Nogales, Arizona, July 1906-December 1910 (5 rolls) - "Contains lists arranged chronologically by quarter-year, then by port of arrival. Arrivals at Aros Ranch, Feb.-Sept. 1908 and Jan.-Mar. 1909, are on rolls 3 and 4."[21]

Douglas, Arizona

M1759, Nonstatistical Manifests and Statistical Index Cards of Aliens Arriving at Douglas, Arizona, July 1908-December 1952 (4 rolls) - "Contains over 43,000 alphabetically-arranged records."[22]

Lochiel, Arizona

A3365, Lists of Aliens Arriving at Brownsville, Del Rio, Eagle Pass, El Paso, Laredo, Presidio, Rio Grande City, and Roma, Texas, May 1903-June 1909, and at Aros Ranch, Douglas, Lochiel, Naco, and Nogales, Arizona, July 1906-December 1910 (5 rolls) - "Contains lists arranged chronologically by quarter-year, then by port of arrival. Arrivals at Lochiel, July-Dec. 1908, are on rolls 3 and 4."[23]

Lukeville, Arizona

A3377, Manifests of Alien Arrivals at Ajo, Lukeville, and Sonoyta (Sonoita), Arizona, Jan. 1919-Dec. 1952, and at Los Ebanos, Texas, Dec. 1950-May 1955 (2 rolls) - "Contains over 6,400 alien arrivals at these Arizona ports of entry. Arrivals at Lukeville are interfiled with those from Ajo and Sonoyta (Sonoita) on rolls 1 and 2 in four record series: (1) index to manifests of aliens admitted for permanent residence, Jan. 1919-June 1924; (2) manifests of aliens admitted for permanent residence, Jan. 1919-June 1924; (3) manifests of aliens admitted for permanent residence and aliens readmitted as returning U.S. residents, July 1924-ca. Dec. 1952; and (4) manifests of aliens admitted temporarily, July 1924-ca. Dec. 1952. Series 1, 3, and 4 are alphabetically arranged. Series 2 is chronologically arranged, but is indexed by Series 1."[24]

Naco, Arizona

A3365, Lists of Aliens Arriving at Brownsville, Del Rio, Eagle Pass, El Paso, Laredo, Presidio, Rio Grande City, and Roma, Texas, May 1903-June 1909, and at Aros Ranch, Douglas, Lochiel, Naco, and Nogales, Arizona, July 1906-December 1910 (5 rolls) - "Contains lists arranged chronologically by quarter-year, then by port of arrival. Arrivals at Naco, July 1906-June 1909, are on rolls 1 through 5."[25]

A3372, Manifests of Alien Arrivals at Naco, Arizona, 1908-1952 (18 rolls) - "Reproduces over 105,000 index cards and related manifests in four record series: (1) index to statistical manifests, nonstatistical manifests, and agricultural laborer manifests (all interfiled), 1908-1924; (2) statistical manifests, May 1908-June 1924; (3) manifests of aliens admitted for permanent residence, July 1924-ca. Dec. 1952; and (4) manifests of aliens admitted temporarily, July 1924-ca. Dec. 1952. Series 1, 3, and 4 are alphabetically arranged. Series 2 is chronologically arranged but is indexed by Series 1."[26]

Nogales, Arizona

A3365, Lists of Aliens Arriving at Brownsville, Del Rio, Eagle Pass, El Paso, Laredo, Presidio, Rio Grande City, and Roma, Texas, May 1903-June 1909, and at Aros Ranch, Douglas, Lochiel, Naco, and Nogales, Arizona, July 1906-December 1910 (5 rolls) - "Contains lists arranged chronologically by quarter-year, then by port of arrival. Arrivals at Nogales, Sept. 1906-June 1909, are on rolls 1 through 5."[27]

M1769, Index and Manifests of Alien Arrivals at Nogales, Arizona, 1905-1952 (74 rolls) - "Reproduces over 455,000 manifests and related index cards of alien arrivals in four record series: (1) index to statistical manifests interfiled with nonstatistical manifests, ca. 1905-ca. 1926; (2) statistical manifests, July 5, 1905-Oct. 1924; (3) aliens admitted for permanent residence and applications for resident alien border crossing identification cards, July 1924-1952; and (4) aliens admitted for temporary visits, 1927-1952. Series 1, 3, and 4 are alphabetically arranged. Series 2 is chronologically arranged but is indexed by Series 1."[28]

San Luis, Arizona

M1504, Manifests and Alien Arrivals at San Luis, Arizona, July 24, 1929-December 1952 (2 rolls) - "Reproduces over 7,900 records of arrival manifests in two alphabetically-arranged record series: (1) aliens admitted for permanent residence and (2) aliens admitted for temporary visits."[29]

Sasabe/San Fernando, Arizona

M1850, Index and Manifests of Alien Arrivals at Sasabe/San Fernando, Arizona, 1919-1952 (3 rolls) - "Contains over 7,500 arrivals in five record series: (1) index to statistical manifests, Jan. 1, 1919-June 30, 1924; (2) statistical and permanent manifests, Jan. 1, 1919-June 30, 1924; (3) manifests of aliens readmitted as returning U.S. residents, July 1, 1924-1952; (4) nonstatistical and temporary manifests, 1927-1952; and (5) statistical and permanent manifests, 1919. Series 1, 3, and 4 are alphabetically-arranged; series 2 is chronologically-arranged but indexed by series 1; and series 5 is unarranged."[30]

Sonoyta (Sonoita), Arizona

A3377, Manifests of Alien Arrivals at Ajo, Lukeville, and Sonoyta (Sonoita), Arizona, Jan. 1919-Dec. 1952, and at Los Ebanos, Texas, Dec. 1950-May 1955 (2 rolls)- "Contains over 6,400 alien arrivals at these Arizona ports of entry. Arrivals at Sonoyta (Sonoita) are interfiled with those from Ajo and Lukeville on rolls 1 and 2 in four record series: (1) index to manifests of aliens admitted for permanent residence, Jan. 1919-June 1924; (2) manifests of aliens admitted for permanent residence, Jan. 1919-June 1924; (3) manifests of aliens admitted for permanent residence and aliens readmitted as returning U.S. residents, July 1924-ca. Dec. 1952; and (4) manifests of aliens admitted temporarily, July 1924-ca. Dec. 1952. Series 1, 3, and 4 are alphabetically arranged. Series 2 is chronologically arranged, but is indexed by Series 1."[31]

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

The Cochise County Recorder has records of land transactions going back to the founding of the county in 1881. Records from 1989 to the present can be searched online. For earlier records, you may have the office staff search the records for you for a fee of $26 per year searched. If you visit the offices, there is no charge to search, except for copies.

Most of the land in Arizona was originally obtained from the US federal government by a patent. These General Land Office Records are available and searchable free of charge. The minimum information needed for a search is the state where the land is located and the name of the person receiving the patent. Surveys and Land Status Records can also be searched here.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cochise County, Arizona. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.

City of Willcox

Klump, Kathy, and Peta-Anne Tenney for the Sulphur Springs Valley Historical Society. Images of America: Willcox. Arcadia Publishing, 2009.

Schultz, Vernon B. Southwestern Town: The Story of Willcox, Arizona. Fabe Litho, Ltd., 1994.

Maps

Azcochise.png

1895 Map of Cochise County Arizona

Military

Newspapers

Arizona Range News (Willcox, Arizona)
122 S. Haskell (85643), P.O. Box 1155, Willcox, AZ 85644
Phone: (520) 384-3571
Fax: (520) 384-3572
E-Mail: rangenews@willcoxrangenews.com
Office Hours: Monday-Thursday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Friday, 8 a.m. to noon

Issues from 2006-2009 available in Google News Archive

Douglas Dispatch (Douglas, Arizona)
530 E 11th Street, Douglas AZ 85607
Phone: (520) 364-3424
Fax: (520) 364-6750

Ancestry.com has a searchable database for the Douglas Dispatch ($Paid Subscription Necessary)

San Pedro Valley News-Sun (Benson, Arizona)
200 S. Ocotillo Ave., P.O. Box 1000, Benson, AZ 85602
Phone: (520) 586-3382
Fax: (520) 586-2382
E-Mail: newssun@bensonnews-sun.com
Office Hours: Monday-Thursday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Sierra Vista Herald (Sierra Vista, Arizona)
102 Fab Ave., Sierra Vista, AZ 85635
Phone: 520-458-9440

Tombstone News (Tombstone, Arizona)
P.O. Box 1760, Tombstone, Arizona 85638
Phone: 520-457-3086
Fax: 520-457-3126
Email: editor@thetombstonenews.com

Cochise county AZ Newspapers found at Library of Congress

Finding More Arizona Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cochise County, Arizona newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

From 1850 to 1864 during the territorial period, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. Then until 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. Since then probate records, such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Arizona, Cochise - Probate records.

Cochise County Clerk of the Superior Court (Marriage, Divorce and Probate Records)

Publications

The Cochise County Historical Journal 

The Cochise County Quarterlies & Historical Journals 1971 – 2003 (PDF) Available through the Cochise County Historical Society )

Research Guides

BYU Family History Library, Family History & Genealogy Resources, Research Outlines, Arizona (PDF).

Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records, Law & Research Library Division, "How do I...? Selection of Research Guides"

State Archives

Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records

Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records Online Databases & Digital Collections


Taxation

Template:AZ Tax Intro

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services , the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

Older Birth and Death certificates found at Arizona Genealogy Birth and Death Certificates

Marriage, Divorce & Probate Records at Cochise County Clerk

Birth and Death Records Birth prior to 1927: Arizona State History and Archives

Birth after 1927: Department of Health Services, Arizona State Vital Records Search

Death prior to 1952: Arizona State History and Archives

Death after 1952: Department of Health Services, Arizona State Vital Records Search

A large number of marriages for this county are listed at Western States Marriage Index

Cochise County Marriages, Created by the Sierra Vista Genealogical Society & Shared with the Cochise Genealogical Society:

Cochise County Marriages, 1893-1901

Cochise County Marriages, 1911-1920

Cochise County Marriages, 1927-1963

FamilySearch Record Search, Arizona Deaths, 1870-1951

FamilySearch Record Search, Arizona Births and Christenings, 1909-1917

FamilySearch Record Search, Arizona Deaths and Burials, 1910-1911; 1933-1994

FamilySearch Record Search, Arizona Marriages, 1888-1908

Voting Records

Cochise County Recorder has county voter lists (the early ones are called "Great Registers") Some of these are also in the Family Search Catalog

Genealogical & Historical Societies

Arizona Historical Society   Locations in Flagstaff, Tempe, Tucson, and Yuma AZ

Arizona Genealogical Advisory Board  in Mesa AZ
Phone: 1-800-255-5841 (Arizona State Library - Ask for Betsy Howard)
Helen Seaton - President
Email: helen.seaton@asu.edu

Cochise Genealogical Society  in Douglas AZ

Douglas-Williams House
1001 Ave. D, Douglas, Arizona 85608

Cochise County Historical Society  in Douglas AZ
Contact: Nery Burnett
Douglas-Williams House, 1001 Ave. D, Douglas, Arizona 85608
Mailing: P.O. Box 818, Douglas, AZ 88608-0818
Phone: 520-364-5226

Sulphur Springs Valley Historical Society
Contact: Kathy Klump
127 E. Maley, Willcox, AZ 85643
Phone: 520-384-3971
Email: ssvhs@ssvecnet.com

The Family History Society of Arizona  in Phoenix AZ
P.O. Box 63094
Phoenix, AZ 85082-3094

The Ninth Judicial Circuit Historical Society (NJCHS)

Sierra Vista Genealogical Society  in Sierra Vista AZ
P.O. Box 1084
Sierra Vista 85636-1084

Family History Centers

Introduction to Family History Centers 

Bisbee Family History Center
Melody Ln
Bisbee, Cochise, Arizona, United States
Phone: 520-432-3122
Hours: W 3pm-7pm; all other days by appt

Douglas Family History Center
2800 15th St
Douglas, Cochise, Arizona, United States
Phone: 520-364-8075
Hours: M-T,Th-F by request; W 6pm-8pm

St. David Family History Center
481 N Pomerene Rd
Benson, Cochise, Arizona, United States
Phone: 520-586-2301
Hours: T 10am-5pm; W 6pm-8:00pm; Th 10am-8:00pm; Sat 10am-1pm

Sierra Vista Family History Center
115 North HWY 90
Sierra Vista, Cochise, Arizona, United States
Phone: 520-459-1284
Hours: T-W 10am-2pm; Thu 10am-9pm; Sat 12pm-4pm
Closed: Sunday, Monday, Friday

Sunsites Family History Center
206 Ford Street
Sunsites, Cochise, Arizona, United States
Phone: 520-826-3850

These are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.


Libraries

Cochise County Library District
Old Bisbee High School, 2nd Floor, 100 Clawson Avenue, Bisbee, Arizona 85603
Mailing: Drawer AK, Bisbee, AZ 85603    Fax: 520-432-7339

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cochise County, Arizona p. 56. ; .
  2. Cochise County, Clerk of the Superior Court. "Requesting Copies of Court Documents". http://cochise.az.gov/cochise_clerk_court.aspx?id=2360. Retrieved 21 June 2010. 
  3. Cochise County, County Recorder. "Requesting Copies of Court Documents". http://cochise.az.gov/cochise_recorder.aspx?id=378. Retrieved 21 June 2010. 
  4. Arizona Division of Emergency Management. "State Hazard Mitigation Plan 2007, 4.2.2 - Cochise County". http://www.dem.azdema.gov. Retrieved 21 June 2010. 
  5. U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
  6. N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 1st sess./p. 119; N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /pp. 266, 292
  7. U.S. Stat., vol. 10, pp. 1031-1037; Van Zandt, 11, 29, 162
  8. U.S. Stat., vol. 10, ch. 245[1854]/p. 575; Van Zandt, 162; Walker and Bufkin, 21-22
  9. N.M. Terr. Laws 1854, 4th assy. /p. 57
  10. William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  11. Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
  12. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56[1863]/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
  13. Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
  14. Arizona Territorial Laws 1881, 11th assy. pp. 4-7
  15. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  16. Arizona Laws 1968, 28th leg., 1st reg. session, ch. 82, pp. 180-182
  17. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). "How to Use NARA’s Census Microfilm Catalogs". http://www.archives.gov/genealogy/census/using-microfilm-catalogs.html. Retrieved 2 June 2010. 
  18. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). "How to Use NARA’s Census Microfilm Catalogs". http://www.archives.gov/genealogy/census/using-microfilm-catalogs.html. Retrieved 2 June 2010. 
  19. Cochise County, Clerk of the Superior Court. "Requesting Copies of Court Documents". http://cochise.az.gov/cochise_clerk_court.aspx?id=2360. Retrieved 21 June 2010. 
  20. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). "Mexican Border Crossing Records". http://www.archives.gov/. Retrieved 21 June 2010. 
  21. ibid.
  22. ibid.
  23. ibid.
  24. ibid.
  25. ibid.
  26. ibid.
  27. ibid.
  28. ibid.
  29. ibid.
  30. ibid.
  31. ibid.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 August 2014, at 05:11.
  • This page has been accessed 50,522 times.