Cockley Cley, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Cockley Cley, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cockley Cley, Norfolk
Cockley Cley.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Greenhoe
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Swaffham PLU
Registration District Swaffham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1731
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cranwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COCKLEY-CLEY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Swaffham, hundred of South Greenhoe, W. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (S. W. by S.) from Swaffham. [1]

Cockley Cley All Saints is an ancient parish. All Saints was once a round towered church, but on 29th August 1991 the tower collapsed. The church was extensively remodelled in the 1860's by the architect Phipson. It includes the ruined Norman chapel of St Mary and an earlier church dedicated to St Philip had also occupied the site.

Resources

Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438860.

Church Records

Cockley Cley, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
Cockley Cley, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1725-1902
1725-1903
1729-1812
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1731-1902 Undefined 1731-1903 Undefined 1731-1812
JOIN
1813-1837

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 137/1-5

Known Issues

Two parishes have been "swapped" in Record Search image collection the banns books and banns/marriage registers for Cockley Cley and Oxburgh are viewable but not in the correct parish. If examined closely they are identified as Oxburgh and "Cley" on record covers.

The images await engineering to correct this situation.

Poor Law Unions

For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Swaffham/Swaffham.shtml

Registration Districts
  • Swaffham

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 654-659. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:25.
  • This page has been accessed 2,783 times.