Coconino County, ArizonaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.pngArizonaGotoarrow.png Coconino County

Guide to Coconino County, Arizona ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Arizona
Online Records


Coconino County, Arizona
Map
Map of Arizona highlighting Coconino County
Location in the state of Arizona
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arizona
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 19, 1891
County Seat Flagstaff
Courthouse
Address 200 N. San Francisco St. (Courthouse)

Flagstaff AZ. 86001
(928) 679-7600

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Coconino County, Arizona

Contents

County Courthouse 

Coconino County Courthouse
Flagstaff Justice Court
100 East Birch Avenue
Flagstaff, Az 86001-4696

Clerk Superior Court has marriage, divorce court and probate records from 1891
County Recorder had land records.

Coconino County lies north of Phoenix and the county seat is Flagstaff. The city is so named on account of a flagpole raising by the first settlers of the area. Today Flagstaff is the largest community in the county. [1]

Parent County

19 February 1891 - Coconino County was created  from Yavapai County. [7] County seat: Flagstaff.[8] This county named for the Coconino Indians. Look for records in Coconino and Yavapai counties.

Boundary Changes

See Previous Jurisdictions to land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.

For animated maps illustrating Arizona county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps" (1852-1993) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arizona counties see: Arizona Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Angell East Flagstaff Little Spring Pine Tank Tempe Camp
Apex Elden Pueblo Long Valley Pumpkin Center Tiis Holoni
Bellemont Flagstaff Lost Eden Quivero Tin House
Big Springs Fort Tuthill Lower Tillman Rare Metals Tolani Lake
Cameron Frazier Wells Maine Red Lake Tolchico
Campo Bonito Fredonia Mangum Springs Rimmy Jims Tonalea
Cane Grand Canyon Marble Canyon Riordan Tuba City
Canyon Diablo Grand Canyon Caverns Meteor City Robbers Roost Tusayan
Chalender Gray Mountain Moenave Rockledge Two Guns
Clints Well Happy Jack Moenkopi Rosewell Camp Valle
Coal Mine Mesa Hidden Springs Mission Moqui Ryan Vista Encantada
Coconino Indian Gardens Mormon Lake Sand Springs Wahweap
Cogdill Center Jacob Lake Mountainaire Sedona Willaha
Corva Kachina Village Munds Park Sereno Willow Springs
Cosnino Kaibito Navajo Mountain Mission Sereno Spring Williams
Cow Springs Lakeview North Rim Sherwood Forest Williams Junction
Coyote Basin Ranch LeChee One Mile Stoneman Lake Wingfield
Darling Lees Ferry Page Sunrise Winona
Daze Leupp Parks Sunshine Winslow West
Dennison Leupp Corner Pilgrim Playground Supai

























Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

 Arizona Cemetery Transcription and Photo Project

Calvary Cemetery 201 W. University Flagstaff, AZ 86001 Phone: 928-220-2317. This is an older Catholic cemetery, founded in 1892 that is near the campus of Northern Arizona University.

Citizen's Cemetery 1300 N San Francisco St Flagstaff, AZ 86001 Phone: 928-774-6725. The largest cemetery in Flagstaff that is run by the city. It is on the east side of the campus of Northern Arizona University.

Census

For tips on accessing Coconino County, Arizona census records online, see: Arizona Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arizona denominations, view the Arizona Church Records wiki page. LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Flagstaff
  • Fredonia
  • Tuba

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Coconino County, Arizona. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.

Maps

Azcocinino.png

Military

Newspapers

Finding More Arizona Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Coconino County, Arizona newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

From 1850 to 1864 during the territorial period, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. Then until 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. Since then probate records, such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Arizona, Coconino - Probate records.

Taxation

Template:AZ Tax Intro

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services , the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

Many early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.

Societies and Libraries

Arizona Historical Society
2340 N Ft. Valley Rd
Flagstaff 86001-1200

Sedona Genealogy Club
P.O. Box 4258
Sedona 86340

Family History Centers

Introduction to Family History Centers

Flagstaff Arizona
625 E Cherry Ave
Flagstaff, Coconino, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 928-774-2930

Page Arizona
313 S Lake Powell Blvd
Page, Coconino, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 928-645-2328

Tuba City Arizona
21 W Moenavi
Tuba City, Coconino, Arizona, United States

These are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coconino County, Arizona p. 56. ; .
  2. Williams 108-110
  3. U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
  4. N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 1st sess./p. 119; N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /pp. 266, 292
  5. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56[1863]/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
  6. Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
  7. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1891, 16th assy./ pp. 26-34
  8. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 23:05.
  • This page has been accessed 12,672 times.