Coeymans, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png New York Gotoarrow.png Albany County Gotoarrow.png Town of Coeymans

Coeymans, New York
Map
Map of Albany County highlighting Coeymans
Location in Albany County
Map of New York highlighting Albany County
Albany County's location in the state of New York
Facts
Founded 1639
Website: www.coeymans.org/

Contents

Historical Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Coeymans, New York

Communities: Alcove, Aquetuck, Coeymans (town seat), Coeymans Hollow

Resources

Cemeteries

Coeymans Hollow Cemetery

Grove Cemetery

St. Patrick's Cemetery

Phone 518-756-3145

Waldron Farm Cemetery

Stanton Cemetery

Co Rd 111, Alcove, NY

Church Records

Reformed

  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Genealogical Department, Reformed Church, Coeymans, Albany, New York computer printout, births or christenings, 1793-1845 (Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1977). FHL Film 882994 Item 2
  • Reformed Church (Coeymans, New York),Church records of the Reformed Churches at Bethlehem and Coeymans. (Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1941) FHL Film 17539
    Baptisms 1793-1840
  • Reformed Dutch Church (Coeymans, New York), Church records, 1793-1945. (Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1974) FHL Film 960498
  • Reformed Church of Coeymans (Coeymans, New York), Church registers, 1793-1847, 1840-1877, 1865-1945 [Coeymans, New York]. (Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1994)
    Church register 1793-1847. FHL Film 928064 Item 11
    Church registers 1840-1877, 1865-1945.FHL Film 1928065 Items 1 - 2
  • Reformed Protestant Dutch Church (Coeymans, New York), Records of the Reformed Protestant Dutch Church of Coeymans, Albany County, N. Y., 1846-1877. (Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1968). At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Film 533488 Item 1

Society of Friends (Quakers)

  • Society of Friends. Coeymans Monthly Meeting (Greene County, New York : Orthodox), Marriage intentions, Womens meeting, Coeymans Monthly Meeting, Albany County, New York. (Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1941). FHL Film 17573 Item 7
  • Society of Friends. Coeymans Monthly Meeting (New York), Monthly meeting records, 1799-1867. At various libraries (WorldCat)
    Women's monthly meetings, FHL Film 17387 Items 3-4
    Men's monthly meetings, FHL Film 17573 Items 3-4
  • Society of Friends. Preparative meeting records, 1789-1851 (Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1941). FHL Film 17573 Items 1-2
  • Josephine C. Frost.[Quaker records, Coeymans, Albany Co. & New Baltimore, Greene Co., N.Y.] (Ann Arbor, Michigan : University Microfilms, 1987). FHL Fiche 6062161 (2 fiche)

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

The town of Coeymans does not have a library but check out the Upper Hudson Library System of which Albany County is a part of, to locate the towns close to Coeymans that have public libraries.

Albany Public Library
Main Library
161 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12210
Phone: 518-427-4300
Fax: 518-449-3386
E-mail: plweb@albanypubliclibrary.org

Genealogical Resources: Albany History Room hours differ from regular library hours. Pruyn Collection of Albany History housed in the Albany History Room of the library. Collection includes city directories, newspapers, and census records on film and online.

Societies

Ravena-Coeymans Historical Society
PO Box 324
Ravena, New York 12143
Genealogy and history.

Little Red Schoolhouse Historical Society
P.O. Box 25
Coeymans Hollow, NY 12046
Phone: 518–756–2562

Town Clerk

Coeymans Town Clerk
Diane Millious
Coeymans Town Hall
18 Russell Avenue
Ravena, NY 12143
Phone: 518–756-2100
Email: townclerk@coeymans.org

Town Historian

Coeymans Town Historian[1]
Marvin D. Wolfe
Route 143
Coeymans Hollow, NY 12046
Phone: 518–756-8166

Town Records

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Coeymans, New York check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


Vital Records

References

  1. Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md: Genealogical Publ., 2009), 368-69. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.

Places



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

 
        Share Your Opinion!

The Community Council Selection Committee is now accepting recommendations for potential council vacancies.

Recommendations Page
Getting Started
Volunteer and Helper
Views
Toolbox
Personal tools