Coffee County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Coffee County

Guide to Coffee County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Coffee County, Alabama
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 29, 1841
County Seat Elba
Courthouse
Coffee County Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Coffee County Courthouse
230 N. Court Ave
Elba, AL 36323
Phone: (334) 347-2519
Coffee County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Probate Judge has marriage records from 1877
and land records from early 1800's
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records

History

Parent County

Coffee County was formed December 29, 1841 from Dale County. Dale was formed in 1824 from Covington and Henry Counties. Covington was formed from Henry in 1821 and Henry was formed from Conecuh in 1819. Conecuh was formed from Monroe in 1818 and Monroe was the original County formed from Washington County (Mississippi Territory) and the Creek cession in 1815.

County seats: Elba and Enterprise[1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Fire.png
Coffee County had destructive courthouse fires in 1851, 1863, and 1877. See Research in Alabama: A Genealogical Guide  page 26 for suggested alternative sources to overcome this loss.[2]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Alcoffee.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Biography

Biographies of many notable residents of Coffee County, Alabama were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Begins on page 654.

Cemeteries

  • Index to Tomb Inscriptions, Coffee County, Alabama. Dale County, Ala.: The Branch, 1969. Digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes 82 cemeteries: Alberson Family Cemetery, Alberton Methodist Church Cemetery, Antioch Church Cemetery, Asbury Methodist Church Cemetery, Beaverdam Church Cemetery, Bethany Baptist Church Cemetery, Bethlehem Church Cemetery, Bluff Springs Baptist Church Cemetery, Brooklyn Congregational Methodist Church Cemetery, Calvary Baptist Church Cemetery, Chestnut Grove Methodist Church Cemetery, Cole Family Cemetery, Cool Springs Church Cemetery, County Line Baptist Church Cemetery, Damascus Baptist Church Cemetery, Danley Cross Roads Church Cemetery, Driskell Family Cemetery, Enterprise City Cemetery, Evergreen Cemetery, Fairview Baptist Church Cemetery, Friendship Baptist Church Cemetery, Frisco or Stricklin Family Cemetery, Goodman Baptist Church Cemetery, Goynes Family Cemetery, Grimes Family Cemetery, Griscal Family Cemetery, Harrison Cemetery, Haw Hill Church Cemetery, Haynes Cemetery, Hillcrest Gardens Cemetery, Hudson Family Cemetery, Hutchinson Family Cemetery, Ino Baptist Church Cemetery, Kelley Family Cemetery, Keyton Cemetery, Kinston Cemetery, Leverette Family Cemetery, Liberty Church Cemetery, McGee Family Cemetery, Macedonia Church Ceemtery, Marvin Chapel Assembly of God Church Cemetery, Meadow Lawn Memorial Park, Mt. Gillied Baptist Church Cemetery, Mt. Hebron Baptist Church Cemetery, Mt. Pleasant Baptist Church Cemetery, Mt. Pleasant Primitive Baptist Church Cemetery, Mt. Pleasant Primitive Baptist Church Cemetery, Mt. Zion Baptist Church Cemetery, Mt. Zion Baptist Church Cemetery, Mt. Zion Methodist Church Cemetery, New Brockton City Cemetery, New Ebenezer Baptist Church Cemetery, New Haven Baptist Church Cemetery, New Home Church Cemetery, New Home Church Cemetery, New Hope Cemetery, Old Tabernacle Methodist Church Cemetery, Old Wellborn Cemetery, Perdue Assembly of God Church Cemetery, Phillips Family Cemetery, Pine Level Cemetery, Pleasant Ridge Methodist Church Cemetery, Pleasant Ridge Church Cemetery, Prescott Family Cemetery, Primitive Baptist Cemetery, Rhoades Church Cemetery, Roeton Baptist Church Cemetery, Rosam Ridge Cemetery, Salem Baptist Church Cemetery, Sardis Methodist Church Cemetery, Seglar Family Cemetery, Shady Grove Church Cemetery, Sharon Primitive Baptist Church Cemetery, Shiloh Church Cemetery, Simmons Family Cemetery, Spinks Family Cemetery, Taylor Family Cemetery, Victoria Cemetery, Weeks Assembly of God Church Cemetery, Weeks Family Cemetery, Wesley Chapel Methodist Church Cemetery, White Water Baptist Church Cemetery, Williams Family Cemetery, Wise Mill Church Cemetery, Woodland Baptist Church Cemetery, Zions Chapel Church Cemetery, and Zoar Church Cemetery.

Census

For tips on accessing Coffee County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Coffee County, Alabama
Year Pop.  %±
1850 5,940
1860 9,623 62.0%
1870 6,171 −35.9%
1880 8,119 31.6%
1890 12,170 49.9%
1900 20,972 72.3%
1910 26,119 24.5%
1920 30,070 15.1%
1930 32,556 8.3%
1940 31,987 −1.7%
1950 30,720 −4.0%
1960 30,583 −0.4%
1970 34,872 14.0%
1980 38,533 10.5%
1990 40,240 4.4%
2000 43,615 8.4%
2010 49,948 14.5%
Sources: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml.  through 1960

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Coffee County, Alabama see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Barbour County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2010. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.134 E7b.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Coffee County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps

 Military 

Civil War

Civil War service men from Coffee County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Coffee County.

- 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company F
- 12th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D "Coffee County Rangers"
- 18th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A (Bullock Guards)
- 25th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K
- 33rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A and F
- 54th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E (formerly Co. "D", 1st AL, TN, and MS Infantry)
- 61st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D and G



Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Coffee County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Coffee County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Coffee County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Coffee County is in District 1.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry– ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1877–1886, 1888–1901, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry– ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1877–1900 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920"at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
  • 1925 - Coffee County Death Index 1925. Batch B546481 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry– ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.

Voting Registers

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.  Coffee County has one book.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Center

Enterprise Alabama

110 Shell Field Rd
Enterprise, Coffee, Alabama, United States
Phone: 334-347-3631
Hours: Tues & Thurs 10 am -2pm Wed 4pm-8pm;
other times by appt.
Closures: Closed on Holidays

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Marilyn Davis Barefield, Researching in Alabama: a Genealogical Guide (Birmingham, Alabama : Birmingham Public Library, 1998), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 976.1 D27b 1998.
  3. 3.0 3.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igialabama.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 March 2014, at 15:19.
  • This page has been accessed 15,413 times.