Coffee County, TennesseeEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Tennessee Gotoarrow.png Coffee County

Coffee County, Tennessee genealogy and family history research page. Guide to Coffee County (established 1836) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Tennessee
Online Records
Coffee County, Tennessee
Map
Boundary map of Coffee County, Tennessee
Map of Tennessee highlighting Coffee County
Location in the state of Tennessee
Map of the U.S. highlighting Tennessee
Location of Tennessee in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: May 2, 1836
County Seat Manchester
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
TGW 45x45.jpg This page adopted by:
TNGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Coffee County Tennessee Quick Dates

Coffee County's civil records start the following years:

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1881 1853  1881  1840  1836  1836 

Coffee County Tennessee Courthouse

Coffee County Courthouse
 300 Hillsboro Boulevard; PO Box 8
Manchester, TN 37355
Phone: 931.723.5106 

County Clerk has marriage records from 1854 and probate records from 1836.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [1]

Coffee County Courthouse
300 Hillsboro Blvd.
Manchester, TN 37355
Phone: 1-931-723-5106

Coffee County Clerk
Marriage and Probate records
1327 McArthur St.
Manchester, TN 37355
Phone: 1-931-723-5106

Coffee County Register of Deeds
Land records
1341 McArthur St., Suite 2
Manchaster, TN 37355
Phone: 1-931-723-5130

Coffee County Circuit Court Clerk
Court records
P.O. Box 629
Manchaster, TN 37349
Phone: 1-931-723-5110

Hours:
Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

Coffee County Tennessee History

The county is named after "John Coffee (1772–1833), frontiersman, planter, and veteran of Creek War and War of 1812."[2]

Parent County

1836--Coffee County was created 2 May 1836 from Warren, Franklin, and Bedford Counties. 
County seat: Manchester [3]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[4] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[5] (male)

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Tennessee counties see: Tennessee Counties with Burned Courthouses

Fire.png
1870 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.[6]

  • Lost census: 1890
  • Marriages recorded between 1836 and 1853 are lost

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Coffee County Tennessee Places / Localities

Populated Places

Anderson Dixie (hist.) Lake Hills Royal Oaks
Asbury Fairview Lewis Store Ruthledge Hill
Baucom Farrar Hill Manchester Rutledge Falls
Beechgrove Flowertown Melrose Park Sainville
Bel-Aire Forest Mill Mud Creek Shady Grove
Belmont Forrest Park Naola Sharondale
Betsy Willis Fredonia New Antwerp (hist.) Stephenson
Black Jack Glen New Union Strauss Mill
Bobs Cross Roads (hist.) Glenview Noah Summitville
Boynton Valley Gnat Hill Ovoca Teal (hist.)
Briarwood Gossburg Pineview Heights Tullahoma
Brooksville (hist.) Hillcrest Plainview Heights Walkersville (hist.)
Bryan Mill Hillsboro Pocahontas West Meade
Busy Corner Holly (hist.) Prairie Plains Westside Heights
Calls Hoodoo Ragsdale Westwood
Crisp (hist.) Johnstown Riley Creek (hist.) White Oaks
Dawn (hist.) Kaywood Robinson (hist.) Winton Town

Neighboring Counties

Coffee County Tennessee Genealogy Resources

Tncoffee.png

Getting Started

Use the free Search for Surnames at Mountain Press's website to quickly search a variety of published Coffee County biography, cemetery, and church records. To determine which books are being searched, or to search each publication's index individually, click here. You are now equipped with a checklist of books to pull off the shelves at a genealogy library, or a wish list for your personal book collection.

Research Guides

  • Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Coffee County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
  • "Coffee County Genealogical Research," The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, Vol. 6, No. 2 (Fall 1992). For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.

African American

United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png Tennessee African Americans

Bible

  • W.P.A. Bible, Family and Tombstone Records, Coffee County, Tennessee. Typescript, TSLA. Microfilmed in 1943. FHL US/CAN Film 24624. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells two Coffee County CDs, which include a digitized version of this book, and a variety of other local records.

Biographies

All of the family biographies from the History of Coffee County, Tennessee (1887) by Goodspeed Publishing Co., are available free online at My Genealogy Hound.

Cemeteries

  • W.P.A. Bible, Family and Tombstone Records, Coffee County, Tennessee. Typescript, TSLA. Microfilmed in 1943. FHL US/CAN Film 24624. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells two Coffee County CDs, which include a digitized version of this book, and a variety of other local records.

The following website may lead you to Coffee County cemetery data:

  • Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried. Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone. May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.

Individual cemeteries

Census

1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Coffee County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Coffee County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. [The USGenWeb Census Project®]

1840

  • Potter, Dorothy and Betty Majors. 1840 Federal Census of Coffee County, Tennessee. Tullahoma, Tennessee: Coffee County Historical Society, 1970.  FHL 976.864 X2p 1840 Transcription and index.

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

1850

1860

  • Bridgewater, Betty A. 1860 Federal Census of Coffee County, Tennessee. Coffee County Historical Quarterly, v.10, no. 3-4 1979; v.11 no. 1, 1980. FHL 976.864 H2t In two parts.

1870

  • Bridgewater, Betty A. 1870 Federal Census of Coffee County, Tennessee. Coffee County Historical Quarterly, v.14 no.2-4, 1988FHL 976.864 H2t.

1880

  • Sistler, Byron and Samuel Sistler. 1880 Census, Coffee County, Tennessee. Nashville, Tennessee: Byron and Sistler & Assoc., 1992. FHL 976.864 X2s 1880
  • Bridgewater, Betty A. The 1880 Mortality Schedule.Soffee County Historical Quarterly, v.9, no. 1, 1978.

1890 -- Lost, but a substitute is available:

  • Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Illinois: Byron Sistler and Associates, 1978. FHL 976.8 X2s 1890

Church

Church records include baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as information about family members and clues about family migration.  For additional information about church records, religions, and religious archives in Tennessee, see Tennessee Church Records.

  • Coffee County Church Records
- FamilySearch Catalog - Coffee County Church Records
  • Church histories tell when a church started in the area, who the early members were, give data about church leaders, etc.
- FamilySearch Catalog - Coffee County Church History
  • If the records you need are not through the Family History Library, contact the church(es) in the area where your ancestor lived.  Two sites that give information about churches in Coffee County are:


- List of Coffee County churches with addresses and phone numbers (Yellowbook)
- List of Coffee County churches (TN HomeTownLocator)


Baptist
  • First Baptist Church (Manchester, Tenn.), Records, 1843-1986 (Microfilm Manuscript #2020, 5 reels) Available fr TSLA via interlibrary loan.
  • Maxwell Baptist Church Records, Coffee County Association. Tullahoma, 1830-1889 (Microfilm Manuscript #1064, 1 reel) Available fr TSLA via interlibrary loan.
Episcopal
Methodist
  • [1898-1967]  Methodist Church Records. Warren and Coffee Counties, 1898-1967.TSLA Reel #375
  • [1898-1900] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. FHL 976.8 K29s vol.2   Index to original records  Warren and Coffee Cos. Methodist. 1898-1967.

Episcopal

  • [1872-1972] St. Barnabas's Episcopal Church Records. Tullahoma, 1872-1972. TSLA Reel #461
  • [1872-1900] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. FHL 976.8 K29s vol.2   Index to original records. St. Barnabas's Episcopal Church Records. Tullahoma, 1872-1972.

Presbyterian

  • [1882-1917]  Pleasant Hill Cumberland Presbyterian Church (Hurricane, Tennessee). Salt Lake City: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1966. Manuscript. FHL 2031043 Item 12


Court

County Court

Family Histories

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]

General

As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Coffee, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 25,000 entries.

  • Coffee County Heritage Book Committee. The Heritage of Coffee County, Tennessee, 1836-2004. Waynesville, N.C.: County Heritage, 2005. FHL US/CAN Book 976.864 H2h.

Bibliography

  • [Butler] Gray, Sandra Lewis. Kinship Treasures from Coffee County Tennessee: Their Ancestors and Descendants Including Lineages of Butler, Davis, and Winnett Families. [Booneville, Miss.]: S.L. Gray, 1997. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 W73g.
  • [Carroll] Carroll, Joseph C. Carroll Cousins: A History of Timothy Carroll and His Descendants. Cedar Park, Texas: J.C. Carroll, 2002. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 C236cj.
  • [Chapman] Chapman, Clifford J. The Chapman Family. Unknown: Unknown, 1966. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 C366cc and FHL US/CAN Film 896942 Item 3; digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
  • [Chapman] Chapman, Clifford J. The Chapman Family, 1810-1967. Midland, Texas: C.J. Chapman, [1968?]. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 C366cc.
  • [Davis] W.P.A. Tennessee Records of Coffee County, Edwin L. Davis Family Record. Typescript, 1939. FHL US/CAN Film 860974 Item 2.
  • [Davis] Gray, Sandra Lewis. Kinship Treasures from Coffee County Tennessee: Their Ancestors and Descendants Including Lineages of Butler, Davis, and Winnett Families. [Booneville, Miss.]: S.L. Gray, 1997. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 W73g.
  • [Elkins] One page summary of Rev. Asa Elkins and family. FamilySearch Books Online
  • [Hathcock] Hathcock, Douglas Wilburn. The Hathcock Family Research Project. MSS., 1991. FHL US/CAN Film 1697914 Item 13.
  • [King] Partin, SheRita Kae Vaughn Roberts. The Family of Elizabeth and Thomas King of Nacogdoches County, Texas. Nacogdoches, Texas: Partin Publications, 1993. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 K58p.
  • [Roberts] Turbett, James A. The Roberts--Smith Book: The Roberts and Smith Families of Upcountry South Carolina; Bedford County, Tennessee; Coffee County, Tennessee; Hamilton County, Tennessee; and Boone County, Arkansas. Alexandria, Va.: J.A. Turbett, 1994?. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 R541t.
  • [Willis] Sherrill, Charles A. Peter Willis of Tennessee and His Descendants. Cleveland, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 1986. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 W679s.
  • [Winnett] See Butler.

Land

Entries
Surveys
  • Potter, Dorothy William. Original Surveyors Record Book 1836-1877 Coffee County, Tennessee (Tullahoma, Tenn. : DWP Publications, 1976) FHL US/CAN Book 976.864 R2p. "Book transcribed from the original book, now too fragile to handle and in pieces, located in the County Register’s office in Manchester. Original book has also been microfilmed by TSLA and it should be noted that the entries herein will not coincide with the microfilmed version. The disagreement arrises because the book microfilmed was actually a late 1880’s copy of the original Surveyor’s Book and that has some serious errors. Hence the original book was used for this new volume. The plats are drawn in the exact size and manner as the original. All entries and notations are copied in full."[8] "Every name" index in back of book includes chain carriers, neighbors, etc.
Grants
Deeds
  • Majors, Betty Moore. Warren County, Tennessee Deed Book A 1808-1818 (Signal Mountain, Tenn. : Mountain Press, 1992) "Every name" index to abstracts that include names of people owning bordering properties. Author states pages 1-55 of deed book were missing and that since lists of the early inhabitants of Warren County are limited to the 1806 Petitions for the formation of the county and the 1812 Tax List of the county her work can be used to identify early inhabitants and their neighborhood groups. See World Cat.
  • Land Deed Genealogy of Coffee County, Tennessee [vol. 1 1836-1842; vol. 2 1843-1850] (Marsh, 2006) [name index] Available from TSLA via interlibrary loan.
  • Coffee County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1836 and is located at 300 Hillsboro Blvd, Manchester, Tennessee 37355, 931-723-5106. Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entrie.
  • The Family History Library has microfilm copies of deeds 1836-1910 with indexes 1836-1930; Court minutes 1812-1926 with indexes 1853-1930; Platt books 1912-1969; poll tax-road releases  1879-1920; surveyors books 1836-1955; and trust deeds 1875-1901 with indexes 1868-1930. 


Law and Legislation

  • Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at the TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War

The following Coffee County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:

  1. 1835 Pension Roll
  2. 1852 Rejected or Suspended Pensions

Additional resources include:

Civil War

Civil War service men from Coffee County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Coffee County.

Confederate Soldiers


Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Coffee County:

Newspapers

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at the TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Coffee County click on the following cities:

Occupations

  • Miller, Alan N. Middle Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1784 to 1902. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2004. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2ma. Purchase at Genealogical.com. [Includes Coffee County.]

Periodicals

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:

Ansearchin' News
Genealogical articles with abstracts of Coffee County, Tennessee records have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
Family Findings
Genealogical articles with abstracts of Coffee County, Tennessee records have been published in Family Findings, the quarterly of the Mid-West Tennessee Genealogical Society (42+ vols.). The Family History Library has most issues of this quarterly FHL US/CAN 976.8 B2f.
Tables of contents for some volumes are available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb Project:
Many articles from this publication have been reproduced on the TNGenWeb Project website, try this specialized Google search.
The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History
Genealogical articles with abstracts of records of Coffee County, Tennessee have been published in The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, the quarterly of the Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society (23+ Vols.). To view a list of these articles, visit their online Index to Articles (1988-2005). Surname indexes are also available online for Vols. 2-22. The website also offers back issues for sale in paper and on CD. The Family History Library has a complete collection of this quarterly FHL US/CAN Book 976.85 D25m.

Prisons

Learn if your Coffee County, Tennessee ancestors went to prison!

Probate

The Coffee County Court has responsibility for the probate records.

FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:

  • Wills, 1833-1968 (5 vols.)
  • Probate index, 1964-1980
  • Settlements, 1860-1961 (5 vols.)
  • Bonds, 1910-1969 (5 vols.)
  • Bonds, Settlements, 1858-1868
  • Insolvent estate records, 1865-1962 (4 vols.)
  • Inventories, 1870-1935 (4 vols.)
  • Letters, 1890-1969 (9 vols.)

The following Coffee County probate records have been abstracted or indexed:

Taxation

The following Coffee County tax records have been abstracted:[9]

  • [1836] Duncan, Ruth Henley G. "Coffee County Tax List 1836," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 1 (Spring 1996):15-19. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
  • [1862] Direct Tax Assessments, 1862, Coffee County Historical Society Quarterly. Manchester TN: Jun 1990. Vol. 20 Iss. 1-2.
  • [1865-1870] Revenue Docket, 1865-70, Coffee County Historical Society Quarterly. Manchester TN: Jun 1990. Vol. 20 Iss. 1-2.
  • [1866] Tax List, 1866, Civil District 13, Coffee County Historical Society Quarterly. Manchester TN: 1997. Vol. 24 Iss. 1-4.
  • [1882] Tax List, 1882, Manchester, Coffee County Historical Society Quarterly. Manchester TN: Sep 1998. Vol. 25 Iss. 4.

Vital Records

See also How to order Tennessee Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage

The original Coffee County marriage records are kept at the County Courthouse. Marriages recorded between 1836 and 1853 are lost. The following publication, based on early newspapers, helps to alleviate this genealogical obstacle:

  • Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL 976.8 V2L.

The following Coffee County marriage records are microfilmed:

  • [1853-1989] Available at the TSLA. Marriages 1853-1897 are available for interlibrary loan.
  • [1853-1975] Available at the Family History Library. Indexes are included with this film group.FHL 1669832 These films include both a separate group of records marked colored and colored records intermixed with other marriage records.

The following Coffee County marriage records have been abstracted and/or indexed:

  • 1853-1895 - Coffee County Marriage Index 1853-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[7]
  • 1853-1870 - Lucas, Silas Emmett and Ella Lee Sheffield. 35,000 Tennessee Marriage Records and Bonds 1783-1870. 3 vols. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1981. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2t v. 1 . [Abstracts include names of brides, grooms, bondsmen, marriage bond dates, and officiators for weddings in this county for the roughly specified years. Marriage data taken from an index card file at the TSLA. Authors do not specify whether or not the card index completely indexes this county's marriages.]
  • 1853-1870 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Early Middle Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. Nashville, Tenn.: B. Sistler & Associates, 1988. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2sb v. 2 .  [Indexes names of brides and grooms, and marriage dates for weddings in this county for the specified years.]
  • 1853-1886 - Marriage Records, 1853-1886, Coffee County, Tennessee.  3 vols. Nashville: TSLA, Historical Records Project, 1939.  Typescript. FHL 24623 Items 2-4. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells two Coffee County CDs, which include a digitized version of this book, and a variety of other local records.
  • 1853-1870 - Potter, Dorothy W. Marriage Books A and C, 1853-1870, Coffee County, Tennessee. Manuscript, 1973. FHL 976.864 V25p Includes index. 
  • 1870-1897 - Bridgewater, Betty A. "More Coffee County Marriages, 1870-1897", Coffee County Historical Quarterly FHL 976.864 H2t   Vol. 11, no. 3 and 4 (Nov 1980).
  • 1754-1862 - Marriage Records. [10]Not complete; early dates not taken from county records.
  • Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 - covers all counties in Tennessee.
  • Many county marriage records are indexed with images at Ancestry's Tennessee State Marriages, 1780-2002. ($)  Be aware that this index is not complete for all counties.
Divorce

In 1940 and 1941, W.P.A. workers pinpointed the location of Coffee County divorce papers in diverse manuscript collections, see:

  • W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A3gp.
Death
  • Some Early Coffee County Deaths & Guardenship [sic] book, 1838-1869 (Majors, 200?) Index. Available fr TSLA via interlibrary loan.

For deaths of Methodists in Coffee County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:

Societies and Archives

Coffee County Tennessee Genealogy Libraries

Coffee County Manchester Public Library
1005 Hillsboro Blvd.
Manchester, TN 37355
Phone: 1-931-723-5143
E-mail: website@coffeecountyibrary.org
Hours: Mon.-Tues. 9 a.m. to 9 p.m., Wed. 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Thurs. 9 a.m. to 9 p.m., Fri.-Sat. 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Sun. Closed
The Library has an extensive collection of research materials available in its Genealogy Department. Included in the genealogical resources are Family History Files: a file cabinet that houses family histories and genealogies provided by genealogists to share with others researching the same names. Researchers are invited to leave copies of their research information, or to make copies from files.

Coffee County Lannom Memorial Library
312 North Collins St.
Tullahoma, TN
Phone: 1-931-455-2460
Lannom Memorial Library is a sister library to the Manchester branch.

Coffee County Tennessee Genealogy Societies

Coffee County Historical Society
101 W. Fort St. Box 2
Manchester, TN 37355-7502
Phone: 1-931-728-0145 or 728-9890
The Coffee County Historical Society holdings include books and periodicals,county and family histories, microfilm, cemetery info, and more. They have published a quarterly journal "The Coffee County Historical Society Quarterly" since March of 1970.

Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society
PO Box 330948
Nashville, TN, USA 37203-7507
The society serves the 40 counties of middle Tennessee of which Coffee County is one. It publishes The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy & History, a quarterly containing articles of genealogical and historical interest. Little-known Tennessee records are published and indexed, along with family genealogies, Bible records and material submitted by members. There is an alphabetical Index to articles in the Journal 1988-summer 2005.

Family History Centers

Coffee County Tennessee Genealogy Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Coffee County, Tennessee

Coffee County Tennessee Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coffee County, Tennessee page 639, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 639. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
  4. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  5. Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
  6. Lost Records: Courthouse Fires and Disasters in Tennessee in Tennessee State Library and Archives in Tennessee Secretary of State (accessed 31 March 2014).
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/6/60/Igitennesseea.pdf.
  8. Dorothy William Potter Original Surveyors Record Book 1836-1877 Coffee County, Tennessee (Tullahoma, Tenn. : DWP Publications, 1976) Page vii. FHL US/CAN Book 976.864 R2p.
  9. The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
  10. Orem, Utah: Automated Archives, 1994. (Family History Library compact disc number 9 part 2.) Does not circulate to Family History Centers.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:18.
  • This page has been accessed 51,909 times.