Colby, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Colby, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Colby, Norfolk
Colby St Giles.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1552
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COLBY (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 3¼ miles (N. E. by N.) from Aylsham. [1]


Colby St Giles is an Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich and a mediaeval church.

The name of the village derives from the translated from Old Norse as farmstead or village of a man called Koli.

Colby is a village and a civil parish in the English county of Norfolk [1].The village is 8.6 miles (13.8 km) south of Cromer, 16.8 miles (27.0 km) north-north-west of Norwich, 5.2 miles (8.4 km) west-north-west of North Walsham and 131 miles (211 km) north-east of London.
For the purposes of local government, the parish falls within the district of North Norfolk.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Aylsham 1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Colby, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[7]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[8]
Colby, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1552-1900
1552-1900
1555-1902
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined None Undefined 1725-1904 Undefined 1813-1902
JOIN
1712-1748

NTA 1703-1800
1712-1748
1713-1749
TIN 1813-1880


Known Issues

Images of the parish register for this parish are available at FamilySearch Historical Records The images displayed are  only partial loading of images available and further image loading by engineers is awaited.

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 398/ 1-6

Parish registers of Colby, 1552-1904 Microreproduction of original records at the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich.
Norfolk Record Office nos.: PD398/1-7, 40-41(S).
In 1552-1630 and 1668-1728, the records were kept in Latin.

General registers of baptisms, 1552-1751, and marriages and burials, 1552-1748; Baptisms and burials, 1749-1812, population statistics, marriages, 1749-1754; Baptisms, 1813-1904; Marriages, 1755-1812, banns, 1755-1822; Marriages, 1813-1837. FHL BRITISH Film 2149665 Items 8 - 13
Marriages, 1837-1901; Burials, 1813-1902; Banns, 1825-1904. FHL BRITISH Film 2149666 Items 1 - 3

Archdeacons transcripts

Baptisms, burials and marriages 1600-1610, 1623-1630, 1665-1812 FHL BRITISH Film 1526779 Item 13

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.



Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 654-659. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  7. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:22.
  • This page has been accessed 3,603 times.