Coldwaltham, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Cold Waltham, Sussex)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Guide to Coldwaltham, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Coldwaltham, Sussex
Coldwaltham St Giles West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bury
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Thakeham PLU
Registration District Thakeham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1587
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Midhurst
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WALTHAM, COLD, a parish, in the union of Thakeham, hundred of Bury, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 5½ miles (S. E.) from Petworth. Coldwaltham St Giles is an Ancient Parish in the Horsham district of West Sussex.[1]

A history of the church Coldwaltham St Giles

The Parish Church of St Giles has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

Coldwaltham Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Coldwaltham Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Thakeham Registration district until 1935 when that district was abolished in service reorganisation
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Coldwaltham, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
Coldwaltham, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1584-1877 1561-1836
PRTS 1593-1900
1561-1901
1572-1797, 1813-1902
SOPC Undefined


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Waltham, Cold

Census records

{{British Census|474671}
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions

Thakeham Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 449-453. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 August 2014, at 15:53.
  • This page has been accessed 1,977 times.