Colgate, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex

Guide to Colgate, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Colgate St Saviour is an Ecclesiastical Parish formed from Rusper, Sussex The church of St Saviour was dedicated in 1879 (built 1868-1871) The village and civil parish of Colgate are in the Horsham district of West Sussex

A history of the church is available at Sussex Parish Churches Colgate St Saviour

Colgate Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Colgate West Sussex Wikipedia

Mar's Hill Baptist Chapel see List of demolished worship places in West Sussex


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Colgate, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
Colgate, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1870-1876 1872-1876
PRTS 1870-1876
1872-1876
1872-1876
SOPC Undefined


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
  3. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 625 times.