Colleton County, South CarolinaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png South CarolinaGotoarrow.png Colleton County

Colleton County, South Carolina genealogy and family history research guide. Introduces you to county topics such as vital record births, marriages, divorces, and deaths, census, court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/South Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records South Carolina
Online Records

Coordinates: 32.84°0′N 80.65°0′W / 32.84°N 80.65°W / 32.84; -80.65

Colleton County, South Carolina
Map
Map of South Carolina highlighting Colleton County
Location in the state of South Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting South Carolina
Location of South Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1798
County Seat Walterboro
Courthouse
County in South Carolina Lowcountry.

Contents

Quick Dates

Colleton County's civil records start the following years:

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1915  1911  1915  1800  1865  1783 

County Courthouse

ColletonSC.jpg

Colleton County Courthouse
101 Hampton Street
Walterboro, SC 29488

Colleton County Probate Court
188 N. Walter Street
P.O. Box 1036
Walterboro, SC 29488
Phone: 843-549-7216
Marriage and probate records

Colleton County Clerk of Court
101 Hampton Street
P.O. Box 620
Walterboro, SC 29488
Phone: 843-549-5791
Court and land records

Hours:
8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday - Friday

History

Colleton County is named for Sir John Colleton (1608-1666), one of the original Lord Proprietors of South Carolina. [1] Colleton County has existed in several different incarnations. It was created as one of the original South Carolina counties in 1682. At the time, all formal business was conducted in Charles Town and the counties were used to locate property. The original Colleton County was abolished in 1768 after the District Court Act was passed. Colleton County was created again in 1785 with the passage of the 1785 County Court Act but never became functional and was abolished in 1798. The present day Colleton County (then a district) was established in 1800.[2] Learn more about the history of Colleton County from the South Carolina State Library or from Carolana.com.

Parent County/Boundary Changes

  • 1682 - Colleton created as one of the original Proprietary Counties of South Carolina.
  • 1706 - Parishes created within the borders of Berkeley County included St. Bartholomews and St. Pauls.
  • 1717 - St. George Dorchester Parish created frm the St. Pauls Parish within Colleton's borders.
  • 1733 - County boundaries extended inland.
  • 1734 - St. Johns Colleton Parish created from St. Pauls Parish within Colleton's borders.
  • 1769 - Counties eliminated in favor of Districts. Colleton became a part of Charleston District.
  • 1785 - A new version of Colleton County (covering a different area) created within Charleston District. Never became functional.
  • 1800 - Non-functioning Colleton County abolished. Colleton District created from Charleston (with different boundaries).
  • 1816 - Colleton gained from Charleston District.
  • 1868 - Colleton and all other districts became counties.
  • 1897 - Dorchester created from Berkeley and Colleton Counties.
  • 1911 - Charleston gained from Colleton County.
  • 1919 - Bamberg gained from Colleton County.
  • 1920 - Bamberg gained from Colleton County.
  • 1975 - Colleton gained from Charleston County.
  • 1987 - Colleton gained from Charleston County.

For more information as well as maps of Colleton County through time, see the South Carolina State Archives or For animated maps illustrating South Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation South Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1682-1987) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

County Seat

The county seat of Colleton County is Walterboro.

County Pronunciation

Hear it spoken.[3]

Record Loss

Fire.png

Records were evacuated to Columbia in February 1865, where fire destroyed them. Virtually no pre-1865 records survived. Deeds have suffered heavy losses. For a list of record loss in South Carolina counties see: South Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.

Resources

Sccolleton.jpg

Research Guides

African Americans

Gotoarrow.png Colleton County, South Carolina African Americans

Cemeteries

There are more than 100 burial grounds in the county. To view a list, see Colleton County, South Carolina Cemeteries.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1800 24,903
1810 26,359 5.8%
1820 26,404 0.2%
1830 27,256 3.2%
1840 25,548 −6.3%
1850 39,505 54.6%
1860 41,916 6.1%
1870 25,410 −39.4%
1880 36,386 43.2%
1890 40,293 10.7%
1900 33,452 −17.0%
1910 35,390 5.8%
1920 29,897 −15.5%
1930 25,821 −13.6%
1940 26,268 1.7%
1950 28,242 7.5%
1960 27,816 −1.5%
1970 27,622 −0.7%
1980 31,776 15.0%
1990 34,377 8.2%
2000 38,264 11.3%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1800, 1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Colleton County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

1800

  • Jarrell, Lawrence E. Early Colleton, South Carolina Census Complete Transcription of the Federal Census Records; 1790 Charleston District Census, St. Bartholomew's, St. George's-Dorchester; St. Paul's and St. John's-Colleton Parishes 1800 Colleton District Census--St. Bartholomew's, St. George's-Dorchester and St. Paul's Parishes; 1810 Colleton District Census. High Point, N.C.: Alligator Creek Genealogy Publications, 1998. FHL Collection 975.79 X2j

1810

  • Jarrell, Lawrence E. Early Colleton, South Carolina Census Complete Transcription of the Federal Census Records; 1790 Charleston District Census, St. Bartholomew's, St. George's-Dorchester; St. Paul's and St. John's-Colleton Parishes 1800 Colleton District Census--St. Bartholomew's, St. George's-Dorchester and St. Paul's Parishes; 1810 Colleton District Census. High Point, N.C.: Alligator Creek Genealogy Publications, 1998. FHL Collection 975.79 X2j

1820

  • Jarrell, Lawrence E. 1820 Colleton, South Carolina Census. High Point, N.C.: Alligator Creek Genealogy Publications, 1998. FHL Collection 975.795 X2j 1820

Church

Church of England

Gotoarrow.png See also St. Bartholomew's Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. John's Colleton Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. Paul's Parish

Court

DNA

DNA Double Helix.png
DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Colleton County residents. FamilySearch has not independently verified the lineages of those tested.

Genealogy

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
General

As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Colleton, South Carolina at World Connect, results in more than 20,000 entries.

Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Gotoarrow.png Learn more.

Message Boards
Bibliography
  • [Beamer] Curtis, Oscar F. Miscellaneous Genealogical Material. MSS. Copy: FHL Film 1638365 Item 5
  • [Brothers] Brothers, William P. Records of the Families of Brothers, Swan, Bonar/Reeves, Beardsley. Palo Alto, Calif.: Nonpareil Press, 1990. FHL Book 929.273 B795bw
  • [Ford] Patillo, Edward. "Ford of the Low Country," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Reseach, Vol. 32, No. 2 (Spring 2004):63-72; Vol. 32, No. 3 (Summer 2004):133-142; Vol. 33, No. 1 (Winter 2005):44-52. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 32-33
  • [Fraser] Quander, Rohulamin. Their Stories Must Be Told: An Abridged History of the Fraser-Pearson-Lee-Powell Families of Waterboro Township and Colleton County, South Carolina. Washington, D.C.: Quander Historical Society, 1999. FHL 929.273 Q25q
  • [Freeman] Crumb, D.F. All About Us [the Freeman Lineage with Connecting Lines and Inserts of Other Franklin/Amite County Families]. South Jordan, Utah: C.A. Ormond, n.d. FHL Fook 929.273 F877c
  • [Glover] Glover, Jim. Colonel Joseph Glover (1719-1783) and His Descendants: Thirteen Generations of the Glover Family. Marietta, Ga.: J.B. Glover, 1996. FHL Book 929.273 G518gj
  • [Hardy] Brayton, John Anderson. "Check the Original! Two Lessons Learned the Hard Way, Part 1: Hardy of South Carolina - A 'Discreet' Omission to Hide an Indiscretion," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 90, No. 1 (March 2002):69-73. FHL Collection 973 B2ng v. 90
  • [Hayne] Hayne Family of South Carolina Including: Splatt, Heyward, McCall, Martin, Davidge, Brevard, Cleveland, Shubrick, Woodward, Simmons, Barnwell, Perry, Beattie, Courtenay, Adams, Huger, Motte and Trapier. MSS. Microfilmed 1983. FHL Fiche 6018783
  • [Inabnit] Lefvendahl, Georgie Inabinet Adams. The Inabnit Family of South Carolina: Volume III. Some of the Inabnit, Inabnet, Inabinett Families of Colleton, Charleston, and Lower Orangeburgh Districts and Counties. [Orangeburg, S.C.: n.p.], 1970. FHL 929.273 In1L
  • [Jenkins] Webber, Mabel L. "Descendants of John Jenkins, of St. John's Colleton," The South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct., 1919), pp. 223-251. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • [Johns] Johns, Burton E. Jeremiah E. Johns: The Descendants of Jeremiah Johns (1788-1869), of Colleton County, South Carolina; of Wayne County, Georgia; of Hamilton County, Florida. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 2002. FHL 929.273 J623j
  • [Lawton] Harrell, Carolyn Willingham Lawton. Kith and Kin - A Portrait of a Southern Family, 1630-1934. Macon, Ga.: Mercer University Press, 1984. FHL Book 929.273 L448h
  • [Linder] Linder, Myrtle Kinard and Billy Royce Linder. Southern Linders: Jacob Simon Linder of Colleton County, South Carolina. 2 vols. Smoaks, S.C.: M.K. Linder, 1988. FHL 929.273 L643Li v. 2
  • [McIntosh] Swinton Family, ca. 1060-1883. MSS. Microfilmed 1958. FHL Film 184501 Item 7
  • [O'Quinn] O'Quinn, John Kenneth. O'Quinn Cousins, by the Dozens. Spartanburg, S.C.: Reprint, 1999. FHL Book 929.273 Oq5oj; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  • [Padgett] William Padgett Family Bible [Records, 1782-1856]. MSS. Microfilmed 1990. FHL Film 1065185 Item 1 Includes genealogical information.
  • [Padgett] Sikes, Florence Padgett and Jacklyn Padgett Staats. Padgetts, Then and Now. 2 vols. Riverview, Fla.: Padgett Sisters, [1994?]. FHL Book 929.273 P133p
  • [Pinckney] Powell, Mary Pinckney. Over Home, the Heritage of Pinckneys of Pinckney Colony, Bluffton, South Carolina. Beaufort, S.C.: M.P. Powell, 1982. FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Book 929.273 P651p.
  • [Pinckney] Powell, Mary Pinckney. Back Over Home, the Heritage of Pinckneys of Pinckney Colony, Bluffton, South Carolina. Columbia, S.C.: R.L. Bryan, 1996. FHL Book 929.273 P651po
  • [Raysor] Bryan, David M. "Charleston Lady to Frontier Widow ... and Back!: The Saga of Elizabeth Chalmers Raysor," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 37, No. 4 (Fall 2009):187-194. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 37
  • [Rogers] Banister, Eme O'Dell. The Family of Rogers of the Piedmont Section, South Carolina & Allied Families. Microfilmed 1983. FHL Book 929.273 R631b
  • [Spell] Herreid, Charlene Humphries. "A Tale of Two Charners," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 38, No. 2 (Spring 2010):79-82. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 38
  • [Stokes] Stokes, Joseph Jackson. Henry Stokes of Colleton County, South Carolina, His Ancestry and Descendents: The Stokes, Risher, Byrd, Hunter and Allied Families of the South Carolina Low Country. Atlanta, Ga.: J.J. Stokes, 1996. FHL 929.273 St67sjj
  • [Stokes] Linder, Bill R. Bill R. Linder's Genealogical Collection. MSS. Microfilmed 2001. FHL Film
  • [Williams] Williams, Rufie Lee. The Family of John and Frances Williams. Aberdeen, Miss.: Almond Print., 1989. FHL Book 929.273 W673wi
  • [Woodin] Delorey, Janet Ireland. "John Woodin, Brickmaker, of New Hampshire, Massachusetts, and South Carolina," The American Genealogist, Vol. 64, No. 4 (Oct. 1989):238-245. FHL 973 D25aga

Land

Because of South Carolina’s history as an agricultural state many residents owned land. For more information about types of land records see South Carolina Land and Property.

Tracing records through South Carolina county and district changes can be difficult. In general, for earliest records begin by searching the Charleston District, then your ancestor’s residential district, then neighboring districts, then the residential county, then neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. The following chart shows where you may best expect to find land records for Colleton County:


Tracing Land Currently in Colleton County with Parent Counties and Districts [4]
Date Government Office  
1866-Present Colleton County
1800-1866 Colleton District Records Lost
1710-1800 Charleston District
1670-1710 Proprietary Land Grants
  • Some deeds for Colleton County may be found in Barnwell County.
Deeds

Antebellum deed books are lost; however, a guide has been published to help researchers study the pre-Civil War period:

  • McElligott, Carroll Ainsworth and Ronald J. McElligott. A Guide to the Pre-Civil War Land Records of Colleton County, South Carolina: Abstracts of Land Records Executed Prior to 1 January 1866 from the Direct Index to Deeds, 1865-1974. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 2000. FHL Collection 975.795 R2m

Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868 For information about the State Land Grants, see State Land Grants

Local Histories

  • Bryan, Evelyn McDaniel Frazier.  Colleton County, S.C. : a History of the First 160 Years, 1670-1830.   (Jacksonville, Florida : Florentine Press, 1993, c1993 ; Columbia, South Carolina : R.L. Bryan), 243 pages. This book, is relating the first 160 years of the history of Colleton County. A story of the people & the main events occuring in the county. Book at FHL 975.795 H2b and Other Libraries.
  • Linder, Suzanne Cameron.   Historical Atlas of the Rice Plantations of the ACE River Basin, 1860. (Columbia, South Carolina: S.C. Dept. of Archives and History, c1995), 684 pages. The plantations were in Beaufort, Colleton & Charleston counties. Book at FHL 975.79 R2L and Other Libraries
  • Glover, Beulah. Narratives of Colleton County : the Land Lying Between the Edisto and Combahee River.(S.l. : s.n., c1963), 239 pages. History of Colleton County starting in 1682. Book at FHL 975.795 H2gb.

Maps

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Colleton County for European settlers included:[5]

Military

French and Indian War
  • Weir, Robert M. "Muster Rolls of the South Carolina Granville and Colleton County Regiments of Militia, 1756," The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 70, No. 4 (Oct., 1969), pp. 226-239. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • "Muster rolls of Colleton co. regim., 1756," South Carolina Historical Magazine, October 1969, Volume 70, Issue 4. South Carolina History Society : Charleston, SC. FHL Collection Book 975.7 B2s.
War of 1812
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Colleton County, p. 184. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Revolutionary War
  • "Revolutionary War Volunteer Roll, 1775," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, March 1930, Volume 18, Issue 1. National Genealogical Society : Arlington,VA.
Civil War

Civil War service men from Colleton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies and regiments that were formed with many men from Colleton County.

- 1st Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia)
- Company I
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Mounted Militia 
- Campbell's Company (also known as Marion Scouts or Marion Troop)
- Earnest's Company (also known as Marion Rangers or Marion Troop)
- Green's Company (also known as Salkehatchie Guerrillas)
- D. B. Heyward's Company (also known as Marion Men of Combahee)
- King's Company (also known as St. Paul's Home Guard or St. Paul's Mounted Men)
- Oswald's Company (also known as Grey Riders of St. Bartholomew's)
- Scott's Company (also known as St. Paul Rangers)
- Smith's Company (also known as Beech Hill Rangers)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry
- Company E (also known as James D. Trezevant's Cavalry and Fort Motte Rangers)
- Company I (also known as J.R.P. Cavalry and Round O Troop)
-2nd Battalion, South Carolina Reserves
- Company C (also known as the Spartan Rangers, the Spartanburg Rangers and the Spartan Rangers Independent Cavalry Reserves)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry
- Company B (also known as Beaufort Detachment, Hampton Legion, Beaufort District Troop, Beaufort Dragoons)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia)
- Company F
- 2nd Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry Reserves
-Company B (also known as the Marion Men of Combahee)
- Calhoon Minute Men (also known as the Calhoon Mounted Men and Martin's Company, South Carolina Volunteers)
- Possibly the Colleton Rangers
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops (6 months 1863-64)
- Company D
- Company H
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry
- Company D (also known as the Wassamassaw Cavalry or Wassa Massaw Rangers)
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Light Artillery (Palmetto Battalion)
- Company F (also known as the Chestnut Light Artillery)
- 3rd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry
- Company A (also known as the Marion Men of Combahee)
- Company B (also known as the Colleton Rangers)
- Company E (also known as the Calhoun Mounted Men or Calhoun Minute Men)
- Company F (also known as the St. Peter's Guards)
- Company I (also known as the Rebel Troops)
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Rutledge's)
- Company G
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Ferguson's)
- Company C
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves (90 days 1862-63)
- Company F
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Aiken's Partisan Rangers) (1st Partisan Rangers)
- Company B
- Company H
- 7th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Nelson's) (Enfield Rifles)
- Company E
- 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry ,
- Company B
- Company G
- 8th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Stalling's)
- Company B
- 10th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry
- Company C
- 11th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (9th Volunteers)
- Company B
- Company G
- Company H
- Company K
- 11th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves(90 days 1862-63)
- Company C
- Company I
- Company K
- 16th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry,
- Company B
- 24th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry
- Company C
- Company E

Newspapers

Historic

The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Colleton County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

Current


Colleton County Newspaper Index

Periodicals

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:

  • Rice Planter
  • South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research

Probate

Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.”[6] Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina.

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. FHL 942 P27c 2007 [Includes wills of residents of Colleton County proved in London, see place-name index. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]

Taxation

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Colleton County.
Published abstracts:

Vital Records

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records. Substitute records, when available, are used to obtain this information. These substitute records including newspapers, court records have been added to this section, when applicable.

Birth

State-wide birth registration began in 1915.  For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health.  The Colleton County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information.  For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Births and Birth Substitutes - Indexes

Marriage

In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.

The Colleton County probate court holds marriage licenses issued from 1 July 1911 to the present. Statewide registration of marriages began in July 1950 and the South Carolina Division of Vital Records has copies of licenses issued after 1 July 1950 through November 2009.

Newspapers are used as a substitute to locate marriage information.  See South Carolina Newspapers.

Marriages and Marriage Substitutes - Indexes and Records

  • 1873-2011 - The Press and Standard Newspaper index online by the Colleton County Public Library - index, includes birth, marriage, and death notices
  • 1911-1951 - Colleton County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, ca. July 1911-Jan. 1951 [8] FHL 1005261 - records only
  • There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in  some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Death

State-wide death registration began in 1915.  For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Colleton County Health Department only has copies for deaths occurring in the last 5 years.  For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Deaths and Death Substitutes - Indexes and Records

Archives, Libraries, and Museums

Libraries

  • Colleton Memorial Library
    Address:
    600 Hampton Street
    Walterboro, SC 29488
    Telephone: 843-549-5621 
    Fax: 843-549-5122
    Hours: Monday to Thursday 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m., Friday 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m., Saturday 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Sunday Closed
    The Colleston Memorial Library is part of the SCLends catalog system.

  • Edisto Beach Library
    Address:
    71 Station Court
    P O Box 760
    Edisto Beach, SC 29438
    Telephone / Fax (843) 869-2499
    Hours: Tuesday 1:00 P.M. - 5:00 P.M., Wednesday 10:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M. Closed 12:30 - 1:00, 
    Thursday 1:00 P.M. - 5:00 P.M

Family History Centers

Museums

  • Colleston Museum
    Address:
    239 North Jefferies Boulevard
    Walterboro, SC 29488
    Phone: 843-549-2303
    Museum Hours: Monday - Noon - 4PM, Tuesday to Friday 10AM-5PM
    Admission: FREE
    The museum features a permanent collection which explores the history of Colleton County from prehistoric times to the early 1900's.  

Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage 

  • Old St Bartholomew Chapter SCGS
    Mailing Address:
    418 Wichman Street (mailing address)
    Walterboro SC 29488-2922
    Physical address
    609 Black Street
    Walterboro SC 29488
     
  • Colleton County Genealogical Society
    125 Wade Hampton Ave
    Walterboro SC 29488
    source: Society Hill

Web Sites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Colleton County, South Carolina

References

  1. South Carolina State Library, "Colleton County" (http://www.statelibrary.sc.gov/colleton-county : accessed 21 Apr 2011).
  2. "Colleton County" (http://www.carolana.com/SC/Counties/colleton_county_sc.html : accessed 21 April 2011).
  3. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  4. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the Early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
  6. Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."
  7. Mary Bondurant Warren, Citizens and Immigrants--South Carolina, 1768 (Athens, Ga.: Heritage Papers, 1994).
  8. South Carolina, Probate Court (Colleton County), Colleton County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, ca. July 1911-Jan. 1951, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2001.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:27.
  • This page has been accessed 30,986 times.