Collier County, FloridaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Florida
Collier County
Guide to Collier County Florida genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Collier County, Florida | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Florida | |||||||||
![]() Location of Florida in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | May 8, 1923 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Naples | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Collier County Courthouse
3315 Tamiami Trail East
Naples, FL 34112-5324
Phone: 941.732.2646
County Judge has marriage and probate records;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records from 1923[1]
History
Parent County
1923--Collier County was created 8 May 1923 from Lee County.
County seat: Naples [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
African American
- Florida African American Griots Project - USGenWeb
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
Bio's
Edward Robert Newell- 1840/41 - 1926 - FLGenWeb Project,Inc.
Albert Benjamin Addison - FLGenWeb Project,Inc.
Cemeteries
- Florida Tombstone Transcription Project - USGenWeb
- Interment.net - Florida cemetery records by County
- Veterans Administration National Cemeteries - Florida National Cemeteries
- Collier Co. FLGenWeb Project,Inc. Cemetery Index
Census
For tips on accessing Collier County, Florida census records online, see: Florida Census.
- 1783 Spanish Census - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1821 Census/Tax List Index - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1823 Census/Tax List Index - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1885 Florida State Population Census - Includes sex, age, relationship, occupation, place of birth of each family member and parents. Also census for agriculture, manufacture and mortality.
- Federal Census Information from National Archives - USGenWeb Archives Project
- State Census Information from Florida State Archives - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service - USGenWeb Archives Project
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Florida Territorial Land Records
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Collier County, Florida. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
Maps
- 1870 Gray's Atlas Panhandle Portion of State - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1882 Rand McNally Panhandle Portion of State - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Exploring Florida, FCIT Maps, University of South Florida
Marriages;
Index - FLGenWeb Project,Inc.
Military
- Florida State Military Files - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Pension Transcriptions - Florida state pension records from various wars - USGenWeb Pension Project
- Florida Casualties in the Korean Conflict
- Florida Casualties in the Vietnam War
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Collier County, Florida newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Collier County, Florida Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Naples Daily News
1100 Immokalee Road
Naples, FL 34110 http://www.naplesnews.com
Obituaries
- Florida Obituaries - Obituary transcriptions from Florida counties - USGenWeb Obituaries Project
- Addison, Albert Benjamin and Charity - FLGenWeb Project,Inc.
- Collier County obits-By Mary-
- In Memory, Fallen Officers of Collier Co. FLGenWeb Project,Inc.
- Obituary Index: 28 July 1927 - January, 2008 (Completed by volunteers from the Genealogical Society of Collier County).
Pioneer's of Collier
Speed Menefee - FLGenWeb Project,Inc.
Probate
Probate records are held by the Collier County, Florida Clerk of Court and are housed at the Collier County, Florida Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.
Marriage
- 1923-1945 - Collier County Marriage Book 1 Index 1923-1945. Batch M736792 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Societies and Libraries
Genealogical Society of Collier County, Inc.
P.O. Box 7933
Naples, FL 34101
Website: http://thegscc.org
The Genealogical Society of Collier County, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization located in Naples, Florida. We are dedicated to researching and recording family histories; as well as teaching and assisting researchers through our many educational classes and programs.
Many of our members also serve as volunteers in the "Genealogy Room" located in the reference area of the Naples Regional Library, 650 Central Avenue. Our library volunteers are eager to assist library patrons by offering guidance with the genealogy special collection and computer databases. A schedule of when volunteers are on duty can be found on our website under "Volunteer Help."
The Society offers two free "Beginning Genealogy" courses each year and monthly educational programs at our meetings. Please consult our website at http://thegscc.org for the dates, times and location of our classes and meetings.
Projects:
Naples Daily News Obituary Index
Volunteers from the Genealogical Society of Collier County, Inc. have indexed names from obituaries and death notices published in the Naples newspapers from July 28, 1927 to January 2008, however the microfilm for certain years has not been found or doesn’t exist. The microfilm reels used in this project, currently numbering over 850, are housed in the Collier County Public Library at 650 Central Avenue, Naples. To search the index online visit: http://public.collier-lib.org/db/ .
Family History Surname Index
Volunteers from the Genealogical Society of Collier County have indexed the surnames found in all the family history books located in the genealogy special collection at the Naples Regional Library,650 Central Avenue. To search the index online visit:http://public.collier-lib.org/dbgen/ .
Other Resources
- Florida State Historical Societies - Listing by County
- Florida Historical Society
- Florida State Genealogical Society
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Family History Library Catalog
- Collier County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Collier County FLGenWeb
- Collier County, FLGenWeb Project, Inc.
- Genealogical Society of Collier County, Inc.
- Collier County Public Library Genealogy Resources Page
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Collier County, Florida. Page 133 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/54/Igiflorida.pdf.
| This Florida-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 13 June 2013, at 00:30.
- This page has been accessed 1,738 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

