Collingham, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Collingham

Guide to Collingham, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Collingham, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Skyrack
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Carlton Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Tadcaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1579
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COLLINGHAM (St. Oswald), a parish, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Skyrack, W. riding of York, 1½ mile (S. S. W.) from Wetherby; containing 324 inhabitants.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Collingham exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
 COLLINGHAM PARISH (1579) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1579-1837

1579-1837

1579-1837

FREG 1579-1837 1579-1837 1579-1837
FS 1579-1837

1579-1861

None

HATH 1579-1837

1579-1837

1579-1837

JOIN None

1579-1837

None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1579.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464268.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848),pp. 663-668. Date accessed: 15 November 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,743 times.