Collingsworth County, TexasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Texas go to Counties C go to Collingsworth County

Guide to Collingsworth County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Texas
Online Records


Collingsworth County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Collingsworth County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded August 21, 1876
County Seat Wellington
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Collingsworth County Courthouse
County Courthouse Room 3
Wellington, TX 79095
Phone: 806.447.2408 

County Clerk has birth records from 1891,
marriage records from 1890, death records
from 1892, divorce and court records from
1903 and land records[1]

History

Parent County

1876--Collingsworth County was created 21 August 1876 from Bexar Land District. County seat: Wellington [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

African American

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

WorldCat

Findagrave.com

Interment.net


Names in Stone

USGenWeb


Billion Graves

Billion Graves


Cemeteries of Texas



Names in Stone



See Texas Cemeteries for more information.
Additional Cemetery Sources


Church

Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Collingsworth County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

  • Texas Museums  ~  List of all museums in Texas  ~  Hidden Ancestors

Maps

Txcollingsworth.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Collingsworth County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Taxation

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas or How to order Texas Vital Records


A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred, ordered electronically online or download an application for Texas Birth and Death Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Verification Application to mail.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records


Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death
Divorce

Societies and Libraries

Collingsworth Public Library
711 15th St
Wellington, TX 79095
Phone: (806) 447-2116
Website

  • Society Hill  ~  Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Collingsworth County, Texas. Page 661 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 September 2014, at 16:38.
  • This page has been accessed 6,629 times.