Colne, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Colne, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Colne, Lancashire
St Bartholomew's Church, Colne.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Burnley PLU
Registration District Burnley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1599; Separate registers exist for Trawden beginning 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whalley
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

Colne St Bartholomew was erected as an ancient chapel of ease, and in operation by 1599, taken from and lying within the boundaries of Whalley Ancient Parish.

Other places in the parish include: Foulridge and Barrowford Booth.

Originally in the Diocese of Chester ( registers begin in 1599) it became part of the Whalley Deanery in The Diocese of Manchester in 1847
The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.

COLNE, a market-town and parochial chapelry, in the parish of Whalley, union of Burnley, Higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 35 miles (S. E.) from Lancaster, and 217 (N. N. W.) from London. [1] This parochial chapelry included at least the following 5 chapels of ease:

  • Great Marsden - 1847
  • Little Marsden - 1835
  • Colne Christ Church - 1836
  • Barrowford St. Thomas - 1838
  • Trawden St Mary - 1844

This chapelry also included the town of Foulridge.

There were places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyan Methodists, and Primitive Methodists. 

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Colne St. Bartholomew chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Whalley to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


COLNE ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry  (1599) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1599-1900 1599-1900 1599-1835
LOPC 1599-1900 1599-1645, 1654-1900 1599-1650, 1653-1899
LBMD 1837-1942 1837-1982 1837-1968
FMP None 1599-1644 None
AC 1599-1653
1599-1653
1599-1653
FREG 1599-1653, 1790-1812
1599-1640
1599-1616, 1630-1650
WHALLEY ST MARY AND ALL SAINTS PARISH (1538) Indexes (ancient parish containing COLNE ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1888 1539-1837 None
LOPC 1538-1601, 1605-1845, 1848-1860, 1862-1875 1539-1601, 1605-1647, 1653-1900 1538-1601, 1605-1840, 1843-1891
LBMD 1837-1937 None 1837-1937
FMP None 1539-1627 None
AC 1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
FREG 1538-1631 1539-1651 1538-?


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Colne St. Bartholomew and comprising the whole ancient parish of Whalley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WHALLEY PARISH page.


Colne- St Bartholomew
Baptisms Transcript-1599-1653- 929.3272 C10
Baptisms Transcript-1654-1697- Archives LPRS Transcript
Baptisms Transcript-1774-1789- 929.3272 Co7
Baptisms Transcript-1790-1812- Q929.3272 Co10 or Rossendale Fiche C15
Burials Transcript-1599-1650- 929.3272 C10
Burials Transcript-1654-1734- Archives LPRS Transcript
Burials Transcript-1774-1789- 929.3272 Co7
Burials Transcript-1790-1812- Q929.3272 Co4
Marriage Index-1813-1837- Rossendale Fiche C11
Marriages Transcript-1599-1644- 929.3272 C10
Marriages Transcript-1654-1754- 929.342764 Wh1

For original registers of above please enquire at Lancashire Record Office.

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306896.

Genealogy

Stott, Brian. Towler of Colne and Burnley.  Family History article of John Towler of Colne marrying Judith Robinson from the parish of Clapham at Colne in 1761, and the descendants, scattering through Yorkshire and London. to be found in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Society Magazine, vol. 16. no.1.page 40-43. FHL Ref 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions

Burnley Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 663-668. Date accessed: 17 September 2013.

Websites

Colne on GENUKI


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 September 2014, at 17:24.
  • This page has been accessed 4,505 times.