Colney, HertfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Gotoarrow.pngHertfordshire Parishes Guide to Colney, Hertfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Colney, Hertfordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred St Albans Borough
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Hitchin PLU
Registration District Barnet; St Albans
Records begin
Parish registers: 1826
Bishop's Transcripts: 1827
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barnet
Diocese Pre-1845 - London; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of St Albans
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Colney also known as Colney-London, is a chapelry, in the union of St. Alban's, parishes of St. Peter and St. Alban's, hundred of Cashio, or liberty of St. Alban's, county of Hertford, it is 6 miles (N. W. by N.) from Barnet.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Colney, Hertfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
Colney, Hertfordshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1876-1898
1886-1906

FMP 1898-1910 1898-1910 1846-1911 1846-1911
IGI 1826-1875
NBI

1828-1851


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288829.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1831. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 13 December 2013.
  3. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' FindMyPast, accessed 5 March 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2014, at 15:27.
  • This page has been accessed 446 times.