Colton, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Colton, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. See a List of Chapelries in Colton Parish.

Colton, Lancashire
Colton HolyTrinity Lancashire.JPG
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ulverston PLU
Registration District Ulverstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1623
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Furness and Cartmel
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COULTON,or Colton (Holy Trinity), a parish created by 1623 from Hawkshead, Lancashire, in the union of Ulverston, hundred of Lonsdale north of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster, containing the chapelries of Haverthwaite and Rusland and the parochial chapelry of Finsthwaite. East Coulton is 5½ miles (N. N. E.), and West Coulton 5 (N. by E.), from Ulverston. This is one of the most modern parishes in Lancashire. The modern parish is in the diocese of Carlisle.Other places in the parish include: Bethecar Moor, Nibthwaite, Colton West, and Colton East.[1]

Colton is a village in Cumbria since 1974 (historically part of Lancashire), England. Its name has been recorded as Coleton (which is Old English for 'village') and Coulton, and its existence has been recorded as early as 1202. The settlement is situated on an incline, at the top of which is Colton Church, which was built in 1575 and rebuilt 25 years later. Colton Beck, which runs beside the village, was once known as Cole, meaning 'hazel stream'.[The local parish council is also named Colton, and includes Finsthwaite, Lakeside, Oxen Park, Nibthwaite, Bouth, and Rusland in its boundary.

See also a List of Chapelries in Colton Parish and, a List of Chapelries in Hawkshead Parish

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Colton parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = findmypast
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg
COLTON HOLY TRINITY PARISH (1623) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1623-1655, 1676-1870 1626-1648, 1676-1854 1676-1870
LOPC 1811-1825 1811-1825 1811-1825
LBMD None None None
FMP None 1626-1837 None
FINSTHWAITE ST PETER Chapelry  (1725) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1725-1882 1727-1901 1725-1905
LOPC 1726-1840 1727-1839 None
LBMD None None None
FMP None 1727-1836 None
HAVERTHWAITE Chapelry  (1832) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1832-1888 1862-1901 1833-1901
LOPC None None None
LBMD None None None
RUSLAND Chapelry  (1754) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None None None

Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306914.


Poor Law Unions

Ulverston Poor Law Union,Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Colton on GENUKI


References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 700-702. Date accessed: 23 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 5,768 times.