Columbia County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow-kelly.png  Georgia  Gotoarrow-kelly.png  Columbia County

Guide to Columbia County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Columbia County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Columbia County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 10, 1790
County Seat Evans
Courthouse
Address Columbia County Courthouse
PO Box 498
Evans, GA 30809
Phone: 760.868.330
Columbia County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Columbia County Georgia Courthouse.jpg

Columbia County Courthouse
PO Box 498
Evans, GA 30809
Phone: 760.868.330

Clerk of Court has land records from 1700’s, court records from 1900’s, and divorce records from 1945; Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records.[1]

Beginning Dates for Columbia County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate




1700s

History

Parent County

1790--Columbia County was created 10 December 1790 from Richmond County.
County seat: Appling [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

No reported loss or damage.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

  • Cities: Grovetown | Harlem | Appling | Berzelia | Campania | Evans | Martinez | Sawdust

Neighboring Counties

Aiken County  • Edgefield County  • Lincoln County  • McCormick County  • Mcduffie County  • Richmond County  •

Columbia CountyMcDuffie CountyMcDuffie CountyWarren CountyRichmond CountyTaliaferro CountyWilkes CountyLincoln CountyElbert CountyMadison CountyClarke CountyOglethorpe CountyMorgan CountyGreene CountyPutnam CountyBaldwin CountyHancock CountyWashington CountyGlascock CountyJefferson CountyBurke CountyScreven CountyAiken CountyEdgefield CountyMcCormick CountyAbbeville CountyGreenwood CountySaluda CountyLexington CountyOrangeburg CountyBarnwell CountyAllendale CountyGAColumbia.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

LDS Cemetery Records

  • US Vol. 5
    • page 100 - Walker Cemetery
    • page 100 - Piney Grove Church
    • page 100 - Adams Chapel Church

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Church of the Heavenly Rest, Grovetown

  • 1887-1895 - Church of the Heavenly Rest, Grovetown, Baptism Index 1887-1895. Batch C712591 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

  Index to Deeds 1801-1803; Bk E 1815 Georgia Pioneers

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Columbia County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gacolumbia.jpg

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Columbia County, Georgia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Columbia County, Georgia:


-10th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company F
- 16th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company K
- 37th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company H
- 48th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company K
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project (other War's information is also giving)

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Columbia County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  • Wills 1790-1888 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers
  • Index to Wills 1803-1821; 1839-1859  Georgia Pioneers
  • Index to Letters of Administration 1788-1825 Georgia Pioneers
  • Index to Distribution of Estates 1809-1827 Georgia Pioneers
  • Index to Inventories, Sales, Appraisements, Book G 1804-1810; 1821-1829; Bk X 1829-1839; Bk EE 1839-1850 Georgia Pioneers
  • Index to Accounts of Estates Book L, 1813-1821; Book M, 1820-1826; Book CC, 1824-1833

Georgia Pioneers

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage

Marriage Bonds

  • 1791-1934 - Columbia County Marriage Bonds Books A and B Index 1791-1934. Batch M712571 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1787-1930 - Columbia County Marriage Bonds Books B thru D Index 1787-1930. Batch M712572 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1787-1935 - Columbia County Marriage Bonds Books D thru G Index 1787-1935. Batch M712573 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1787-1935 - Columbia County Marriage Bonds Books G thru I Index 1787-1935. Batch M712574 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1846-1937 - Columbia County Marriage Bonds Books I thru L Index 1846-1937. Batch M712575 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1787-1805 - Columbia County Marriage Bonds Books L and M Index 1787-1805. Batch M712576 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1787-1805 - Columbia County Marriage Bonds Books M thru R Index 1787-1805. Batch M712577 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1787-1805 - Columbia County Marriage Bonds Books R thru T Index 1787-1805. Batch M712578 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1856-1935 - Columbia County Marriage Bonds Books T thru W Index 1856-1935. Batch M712579 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1791-1934 - Columbia County Marriage Bonds Books W thru Z Index 1791-1934. Batch M712581 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Marriage Registers

  • 1806-1852 - Columbia County Marriage Registers A and B Index 1806-1852. Batch M712582 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1852-1873 - Columbia County Marriage Register C Index 1852-1873. Batch M712583 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1871-1888 - Columbia County Marriage Register D Index 1871-1888. Batch M712584 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1887-1895 - Columbia County Marriage Registers E and F Index 1887-1895. Batch M712585 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1866-1905 - Columbia County Marriage Registers A and B Index 1874-1905. Batch M712561 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death
  • 1849-50, 1869-70, 1879-80 - Columbia County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Columbia County, Georgia. Page 153 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 24. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.00 4.01 4.02 4.03 4.04 4.05 4.06 4.07 4.08 4.09 4.10 4.11 4.12 4.13 4.14 4.15 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 20:47.
  • This page has been accessed 15,329 times.