Columbia County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Columbia County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Columbia County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Columbia County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 3, 1846
County Seat Portage
Courthouse
Address Columbia County Courthouse
PO Box 177
Portage, WI 53901-0177
Phone.608.742.9654 
WI Columbia.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Columbia County Courthouse
PO Box 177
Portage, WI 53901-0177
Phone.608.742.9654 

Register of Deeds has land, burial, marriage, death and burial records;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records; Register in Probate
has probate records [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1846--Columbia County was created 3 February 1846 from Portage County. County seat: Portage [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free name index and images of the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on FamilySearch.org. This census only identifies the head of family by name. The rest of the census is statistical.

Church History and Records

Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Rio, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Columbia County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Columbia County.

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies E and G
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company E

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 755 Columbia County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:53.
  • This page has been accessed 6,078 times.