Columbus County, North CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
North Carolina
Columbus County
Guide to Columbus County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Columbus County, North Carolina | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of North Carolina | |||||||||
![]() Location of North Carolina in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | 1808 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Whiteville | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
| | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
Columbus County Courthouse
612 North Madison Street
Whiteville, NC 28472
Phone: 910-640-6225
Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1913
marriage records from 1867 and land records
clerk superior court has divorce and court records from 1868
prorobate records from 1817[1]
History
Columbus County was named for Christopher Columbus. It was formed in 1808 from land that was originally part of Bladen and Brunswick Counties. Bordering counties are Brunswick, Pender, Bladen, Robeson, Dillon County, SC and Horry County, SC.
The county has several important geographical features including Lake Waccamaw, the largest natural lake between New York and Florida, the Waccamaw and Lumber Rivers which link this area to South Carolina and the coastal town of Georgetown, and the Cape Fear River which provides access to the port city of Wilmington.
Parent County
1808--Columbus County was created 15 December 1808 from Bladen and Brunswick Counties.
County seat: Whiteville [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Columbus County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
Church Records
Baptist
- White Marsh. Established about 1765.[3] Previously located in Bladen County.
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Dulah
- Tabor City Branch
- Whiteville Branch
Court
Genealogy
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
Bibliography
- [Lewis] Lewis, J.D. My Neck of the Woods: The Lewis Families of Southeastern North Carolina and Northeastern South Carolina. Little River, S.C.: J.D. Lewis, 2002. FHL Book 929.273 L585Ljd; CD-ROM no. 1036
Land
Register of Deeds
125 Washington St. Suite B
P.O. Box 1086
Whiteville, NC 28472
Phone: (910) 640-6625
The Register of Deeds Office records all land transactions, birth, deaths, and marriages that occur in Columbus County.
Online Real Estate Lookup Search
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
Newspapers
Probate
- 1808-1908 - Will Books (1808-1908) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
Taxation
Vital Records
County records are available from the Columbus County Register of Deeds. Uncertified copies of records are $.25.
Births
- North Carolina Births and Christenings, 1866-1964 - search this name index to birth, baptism and christening records from the state; via FamilySearch
Marriages
- North Carolina Marriages, 1762-1979 - search this database of marriages from across the state - images included; via FamilySearch
- Columbus County marriages - may be included throughout Carrie Broughton's 6-volume index of the Raleigh Register & State Gazette newspaper (1799-1893). Marriages are listed by year and PDF files are searchable. Available on the North Carolina Digital Collections website.
- Columbus County Marriages 1850s-1900 at USGenWeb - free.
- 1851-1967 - Columbus County Marriage Index 1851-1967 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Deaths
- Misc. Columbus County Deaths - on the Columbus County NCGenWeb site
- Columbus County Obituaries - contributed to the NCGenWeb Archives Project
- Columbus County Deaths - contributed to the NCGenWeb Archives Project
- Columbus County deaths - list of county area deaths reported in various newspapers; dates range from late 1700s to 1900s.
- North Carolina Death Certificates, 1906-1930 - search a statewide collection of freely available death certificates - images are included; via FamilySearch
- Columbus County Coroners' Inquest, 1914-1968, 1981 - from the NC State Archives. Available as Word or PDF documents.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb Project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- NCGenWeb Columbus County
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Columbus County, North Carolina. Page 507 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at St Paul's Seminary website; George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:319, 326. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 May 2013, at 15:03.
- This page has been accessed 2,424 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


