Colville IndiansEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Washington Gotoarrow.png Indians of Washington Gotoarrow.png Colville Indians

Guide to Colville Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

NezPerce Indians dressed for dance-Colville Indian Reservation.jpg


Tribal Headquarters

Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation
P. O. Box 150
Nespelem, WA 99155
Phone: 1.509.634.2200
Fax: 1.509.634.4116


Brief Timeline

1782-1783: Small pox epidemic depopulates the tribe

1825: Fort Colville is established

1872: Colville Reservation is established

  • 1883 July 7, agreement with the Columbia (unratified)

Additional References to the History of the Tribe

Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a more complete history of the Colville tribe, with estimations of the population of the tribe at various time periods


The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:


Colville Reservation


  • 1883 July 7, agreement with the Columbia (unratified)

Important Web Sites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.



Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 August 2015, at 16:00.
  • This page has been accessed 3,651 times.