Colwich, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Colwich, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Colwich, Staffordshire
Colwich St Michael & All Angels Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stafford PLU
Registration District Stafford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1590
Bishop's Transcripts: 1659
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rugeley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Colwich
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COLWICH (St. Michael), a parish, in the S. division of the hundred of Pirehill, union, and N. division of the county, of Stafford, 3 miles (N. W. by N.) from Rugeley; containing, with Fradswell chapelry, the townships of Bishton, Moreton, Shugborough, and Wolseley,and part of those of Drointon, Great and Little Haywood, and Hixon. [1]

Colwich St Michael and All Angels is an Ancient Parish in the county of Staffordshire. Other places in the parish include: Bromley, Pershall, Three Farms, Sugnall Parva, Sugnall Magna, Slindon, Podmore, Wootton, Aspley, Charnes, Chatcull, Chorlton with Stableford, Cold Meece, Coldmeece, Croxton, Great Sugnall, Hill Chorlton, Horseley, Horseley with Garmelo, Cotmere and Offley Hay, Little Sugnall, Mill Meece, Millmeece, and Walton.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Colwich St Michael and All Angels parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
COLWICH PARISH (1590) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1813-1943
1837-1912
1813-1911
FS 1659-1871
1659-1871

NBI

1590-1837

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1590-1978 Mar 1590-1958 Bur 1590-2007
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1659-1868



Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474623.

Poor Law Unions

Stafford Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Colwich/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 668-672. Date accessed: 30 October 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,199 times.