Colyton, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.pngDevon Parishes

Guide to Colyton, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Colyton, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Colyton
County Devon
Poor Law Union Axminster PLU
Registration District Axminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Honiton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court A Peculiar of the Court of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COLYTON, or Culliton (St. Andrew), a markettown and parish, in the union of Axminster, hundred of Colyton, Honiton and S. divisions of Devon, 5 miles (S. W.) from Axminster, and 151 (W. S. W.) from London. There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Colyton, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
Colyton, Devon Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1538-1837 1538-1837
PALL 1790-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241307.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 668-672. Date accessed: 25 October 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:03.
  • This page has been accessed 2,447 times.