Compton, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Compton, Sussex
Compton St Mary West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westbourne and Singleton
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Westbourne PLU
Registration District Westbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1570
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boxgrove
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COMPTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Westbourne, hundred of Westbourne and Singleton, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 10 miles (N. W.) from Chichester.[1]


Compton St Mary is an Ancient parish the chapelry at Up Marden, Sussex was part of the Ancient Parish. The parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with Hampshire along side neighbour Idsworth, Hampshire

history and images

Compton Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Compton Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Compton, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
Compton, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1558-1876 1559-1639, 1656-1875
PRTS 1558-1900
1558-1900
1558-1901
SOPC Undefined




Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Compton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464156.

See Sussex Census



Poor Law Unions

Westbourne Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 672-675. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 891 times.