Concho County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Concho County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Concho County Courthouse
152 N. Roberts
P. O. Box 98
Paint Rock, TX 76866-0098
County Clerk has birth records from 1800,
marriage, probate and land records from 1879,
burial records from 1883, death records from 1903,
divorce and court records from 1907
Concho | Eden | Eola | Lightner | Lowake | Millersview | Paint Rock | Pasche | Vick
- Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1870(images) - FamilySearch
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Old Eden Cemetery - partial transcription - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Paint Rock Cemetery - partial transcription - USGenWeb Archives Project
- FindAGrave - Concho County cemeteries
- 1880 Federal Tax images - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1900 Federal Tax images - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1910 Federal Tax images - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1920 Federal Tax Image - USGenWeb Archives Project
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Original Land Owners of Texas - USGenWeb Archives Project
Local histories are available for Concho County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Concho County History: 1858-1958, 2 vols., 1959, by Hazie LeFevre.
- Concho County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- Concho County Bibliography - TXGenWeb
Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
- Fort Concho Cemetery Removal - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Confederate Pension Applications - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
- Texas, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Concho County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Concho County Obituaries - TXGenWeb
- Texas, Probate Records, 1800-1990 (images) - FamilySearch
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas or How to order Texas Vital Records
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred, ordered electronically online or download an application for Texas Birth and Death Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Verification Application to mail.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- Concho County Marriage Records - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Texas County Marriage Records, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch. Index to a variety of marriage records (registers, licenses, intentions to marry, etc.) from select counties in Texas.
- Marriage Records 1879-1920, Concho County, 2002, published by the San Angelo Genealogical and Historical Society, 74 pages including an index. Available from the San Angelo Genealogical and Historical Society
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 ~ FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 ~ FamilySearch record collection
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903
- Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Deaths and Burials 1903 - 1973 (index) - FamilySearch
Original Death Records on Microfilm
- Concho County Divorce Records - USGenWeb Archives Project
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
|Centers provide: • Personal one-on-one assistance • Access to genealogical records through the Internet or microfilm loan program • Free how-to classes (varies by location). See Family History Centers for more information.|
- Concho County, TXGenWeb site
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Texas, Concho County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Concho County, Texas. Page 661 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 1 February 2015, at 16:11.
- This page has been accessed 16,164 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More