Conejos County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Colorado Gotoarrow.png Conejos County

Guide to Conejos County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Conejos County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Conejos County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 9, 1852
County Seat Conejos
Courthouse
Address Conejos County Courthouse
6683 County Rd 13
PO Box 157
Conejos, CO 81129-0157
Phone: 719.376.5422

Contents

County Courthouse

Called Guadalupe County for six days before the name was changed to Conejos County 7 Nov 1869.
Clerk of Courts has probate records; County Clerk has birth, marriage and death records; County assessor has land records.[1]

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1877-1907[2]*
1871[2]*
1877-1907[2]*

1871[2]
1875[2]
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

County Seat

Conejos[1]

Parent County

  • Before 1861 the settled part of this modern Colorado county was in New Mexico.
Look for pre-1861 records in New Mexico. For further explanation see Taos County.
  • 1 November 1861: Conejos County was created as an original county under the name of Guadalupe. The name was changed to Conejos 7 November 1861.

Boundary Changes

The original boundaries of the county included a large portion of southwestern Colorado. In 1874, most of the western and northern portions of the county were broken away to form parts of Hinsdale, La Plata and Rio Grande counties, and Conejos County achieved its modern borders in 1885 when its western half was taken to create Archuleta County.

Neighboring Counties

Coconejos.jpg

Record Loss

The county records 1878-1936 were lost when the courthouse burned in 1980; except for the Grantee and Grantor books, which are at the clerk’s office. The county has digitized the land records and they are on a paid subscription website by the county. A few marriage records of the late 1940's also remain in the county clerk’s office. Marriage records for 1858-1936 have been published by “The Colorado Genealogical Society, Inc.” Denver Colorado. The older birth and death certificates that were kept in the Local Registrar, are now available at the courthouse in Alamosa, Colorado.

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Conejos County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

Existing LDS Wards and Branches:

  • La Jara 1 Ward
  • Fox Creek Branch
  • Manassa 1 Ward
  • Manassa 2 Ward
  • Manassa 3 Ward
  • Sanford 1 Ward
  • Sanford 2 Ward
  • San Luis Branch


Catholic Churches:

  • Lady of the Valley in La Jara
  • Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish in Conejos
  • St. Anthony in Los Sauces (Special Mass once a month)
  • St. Augustine in Antonito
  • St. Joseph’s Parish in Capulin
  • St. Teresa in Manassa
  • St. Andrew in La Jara (closed and replaced with Lady of the Valley)
  • In Lobatos
  • In Romeo
  • In Ortiz
  • In San Antonio
  • In Sanford (closed and replaced with Lady of the Valley)

Other Churches:

  • Conejos Canyon Community Chapel (26727 Hwy 17)
  • Presbyterian Church in San Rafael
  • Presbyterian Church in Antonito
  • Seventh Day Adventist in Antonito
  • United Church in La Jara (522 Walnut)

The folowing LDS Ward and Branch Records are on micro film at the Family History Center in La Jara.

  • Conejos Branch 1878-1879
  • Eastdale Ward 1894-1908
  • La Jara Ward (see Richfield Ward)
  • Fox Creek Branch 1893-1894
  • Manassa Ward 1892-1897, 1907-1948
  • Manassa 1 Ward
  • Manassa 2 Ward 1920-1928
  • Morgan Branch 1934-1942
  • Mountain View Branch 1889-1896
  • Richfield Ward 1884-1941
  • Romeo Ward 1936-1948
  • Sanford Ward 1888-1948

Court Records

Directories

Family Histories & Stories

The following books are available in the Family History Center in La Jara, Colorado, 719-274-4032:

  • "We Call It Home" by Mary June Miller, copyright 1977. (A history of Sanford and surounding area.)
  • "Clarinda's Story of San Luis Valley Roots" by Clarinda Knight Sewell, printed Dec. 31, 1983.
  • "Mormon Colonization of the San Luis Valley, Colorado 1878-1900" by Judson Harold Flower, Jr., May 1966.  (A Thesis Presented to the Department of History Brigham Young University.)
  • "The Mormons 100 Years in the San Luis Valley of Colorado, 1883-1983" compiled and Edited by: Carleton Q. Anderson, Betty Shawcroft, and Robert Compton, Published by: The La Jara Stake of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
  • [Bagwell]"Through the Years, Luther & Katie Bagwell" Compilied in 1991 by: Coral Bagwell Sowards, Verla Bagwell Crowther, and Thora Bagwell Goimarac; Layout by: Michael Goimarac.
  • [Ball]"Descendants of Rebecca, Perry, Albert Ball" Copyright, 1969 by Wilbur P. Ball
  • [Brady]"Lindsay Anderson Brady" The family and descendants of Lindsay Anderson Brady of Fairview, Sanpete County, Utah. Jordan Brady
  • [Crowther] 'Crowthers of Fountain Green, Utah" Copyright 1943 by William O. Crowther, Manassa, Colorado. Story of the family of Thomas Crowther born 1823 in Easthope, Shropshire, England and 1st wife Sarah Thomasen and 2nd wife Jane Jewkes. Thomas Crowther and Jane Jewkes Crowther both died and are buried in Sanford, Colorado.
  • [Crowther] "W. O. and Mary C. Crowther Family, Their Lives, Ancestors, and Descendants" Copyright 1976 by the William Orson Crowther Family Organization
  • [Faucett] "Autobiography of Olive E. Faucett Christensen" Olive E. Faucette Christensen, born 1899, written in 1957, donated by Madge L. Perko
  • [Hutchins] "
  • [Morgan] "John Morgan" 
  • [Reed] "Joseph Reed Sr. And His Family Through The Years" A Legend To His Family, by Clefaine Elizabeth Reed King, 1991.
  • [Reed] "Josie Pearl"
  • [Shawcroft]
  • [Webb]

Funeral Homes

Rogers Family Mortuary, 205 N 3rd St., Manassa, CO  81141  719-843-5514 (Alamosa 719-589-4271)


Romero Valley Funeral Home, Antonito, CO  81120  (Alamosa 719-589-9200)

  • The records of the "Rogers Family Mortuary" and the "Romero's Funeral Home" are in the process of being entered into a database.  This database is located at the Family History Center, located in La Jara, Colorado, at 719-274-4032.  This database includes records from the Brown & Lorton Undertaking Co. (1926-1928) and the Lorton & Miracle Mortuary (1929-1939). This project is in the begining stages.

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

The first European know to visit this area was Don Diego de Vargas in 1694, but he left behind no colonists. In 1708, Juan de Uribarri passed through searching for run away Indian slaves.[2]

Conejos County's name comes from the Spanish word "conejos", meaning rabbit, for the large abundance of rabbits in the area. Also early in its existence, the county seat was moved from the town of Guadalupe to Conejos.

  • Misc. Family Collection in Family History Center, La Jara, Colorado, 719-274-4024
Local History

Local histories are available for Conejos County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

  • "We Call It Home" by Mary June Miller, copyright 1977. (A history of Sanford and surounding area.)
  • "Clarinda's Story of San Luis Valley Roots" by Clarinda Knight Sewell, printed Dec. 31, 1983.
  • "Mormon Colonization of the San Luis Valley, Colorado 1878-1900" by Judson Harold Flower, Jr., May 1966. (A Thesis Presented to the Department of History Brigham Young University.)
  • "The Mormons 100 Years in the San Luis Valley of Colorado, 1883-1983" compiled and Edited by: Carleton Q. Anderson, Betty Shawcroft, and Robert Compton, Published by: The La Jara Stake of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.

  • 1878 - current, Grantee & Grantor books, Conejos County Clerk, 719-274-5422.
  • Land records 1936 - current, ibid

Maps


Military

Memorial of World War II Veterans - located on US Hwy 285, just north of Romeo, Colorado

The Colorado State Archives has put an Index to the Conejos County World War II Enlistments on-line.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Online Newspapers

Microfilm

The following are on microfilm located in the Family History Center, located in La Jara, Colorado. 719-274-4032.

  • The Antonito Ledger (June 1892 - Oct 1972)
  • The La Jara Chronicle (Oct 1904 - Dec 1911)
  • The La Jara Enterprise (April 1914 - April 1917)
  • The La Jara Gazette (April 1916 - Dec 1982)
  • The Conejos County Citizen (Jan 1983 - Oct 1993)
  • The Conejos County Citizen (July 1996 - Oct 1997)

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Conejos County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

There is a collection of misc. obituraries from newspaper clippings and funeral programs in the Family History Center in La Jara.  To recieve a digital copy call 719-274-4032 or email fhcobituary@gmail.com

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

Public Records

Conejos County Assessor's Office

School Records:

North Conejos "Centauri" School District, 719-274-5174

Sanford Public School District, 719-274-5167

South Conejos "Antonito" School District, 719-376-5512

Repositories

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Conejos County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968 Conejos County Divorces 1899 - 1915
Conejos County Inheritance Tax 1918 - 1923
Conejos County Probate Cases 1894 - 1918

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

Libraries

Conejos County Library District
17703 Hwy 285
La Jara, CO 81140
Phone: (719) 274-5858
conejos.colibraries.org/

Museums

Sanford Pioneer Museum - located on Main St., Sanford, Colorado, 719-274-4024

  • Sanford World War II Veteran's Project, for more information contact Wanda Rackham, 208-762-5353 or rwrackham@roadrunner.com 

Jack Dempsey Museum - located on Main St., Manassa, Colorado, 719-843-

Cumbres & Toltec Narrow Gauge Railroad - Antonito, Colorado

Societies
Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county.

Colorado State Archives has the Conejos County Inheritance Tax Records Index (1918-1923) online.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Colorado Vital Records Search

  • Conejos County Old Vital Records, are kept in the Alamosa County Courthouse, 719-589-6681.
Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [10]

Marriage
Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [10]

Divorce

The Colorado State Archives has put a name only index to the Conjeos County Divorce Records  for the period 7/13/1899 to 9/20/1915 on-line.

Places

Populated Places

  • Antonito (Town, Hwy 285 & 17)
  • Bountiful (settlement, Hwy 285 South of La Jara)
  • Capulin (Town, Hwy 15)
  • Conejos (County Seat / Town, 1 mile West of Hwy 285)
  • Ephraim (old settlement South of Sanford, No longer exists)
  • Espinoza (old settlement North of Manassa)
  • Florida (old settlement East of Antoito)
  • Fox Creek (settlement, Hwy 17 West of Antonito & Mogote)
  • Guadalupe (settlement North of Conejos)
  • La Isla (old settlement)
  • La Jara (Town, Hwy 285 & 136)
  • Las Mesitas (old settlement, Hwy 17 West of Mogote)
  • Lobatos (settlement East of Antonito)
  • Los Cerritos (old settlement Southeast of Manassa)
  • LaSauses also spelled as Los Sauces (settlement East of Sanford)
  • Los Pinas (old settlement)
  • Manassa (Town, Hwy 142)
  • Mogote (settlement, Hwy 17 West of Antonito)
  • Nortonville (old settlement Northeast of Sanford)
  • Ortiz (settlement Southwest of Antonito)
  • Paisaje (old settlement)
  • Richfield (settlement East of La Jara)
  • Romeo (Town, Hwy 285)
  • San Acacio (settlement, Hwy 142 East of Manassa)
  • San Antonio (settlement Southwest of Antonito)
  • San Miguel (old settlement Southwest of Ortiz in New Mexico)
  • San Rafael (old settlement West of Antonito)
  • Sanford (Town, Hwy 136)
  • Track City (old settlement Northwest of Antonito)

Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 97, Conejos County, Colorado, and 99, Guadalupe County, Colorado. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 92.
  3. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publ., 1987), 52. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  4. Brief County Histories (New Mexico) in RootsWeb (accessed 21 June 2012).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Colorado Territory" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopeida at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colorado_Territory (accessed 19 June 2012).
  6. Adrian B. Ettlinger, AniMap 3.0 : with SiteFinder U.S. place name database (Alamo, Calif.: Gold Bug, 2008), Colorado 1861 map. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL CD-ROM no. 4903.
  7. Handybook, 97, Conejos County, Colorado, and 99, Guadalupe County, Colorado.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Guadalupe County, Colorado Territory" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guadalupe_County,_Colorado_Territory (accessed 23 June 2012).
  9. Colorado Online Historical Newspapers, https://sites.google.com/site/onlinenewspapersite/Home/usa/co, accessed 19 July 2013.
  10. 10.0 10.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:52.
  • This page has been accessed 21,859 times.