Congleton St James,CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to  Congleton St James, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Congleton St James,Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Northwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Congleton PLU
Registration District Congleton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: 1886
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Middlewich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CONGLETON, is an incorporated market-town, a chapelry, and the head of a union, in the parish of Astbury, it is locally in the hundred of Northwich, S. division of the county of Chester. The chapel, dedicated to St. Peter. At Congleton Moss, a church was dedicated to the Holy Trinity it was erected in 1845. Two districts or ecclesiastical parishes have been formed under Sir Robert Peel's act: in the one, St. Stephen's district, a chapel has been purchased from the dissenters, in the other, St. James', a church. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics.[1]

Congleton St James was formed in 1847 from  Congleton St Peter,Cheshire and the earlier Ancient parish of  Astbury, Cheshire

In 1847 the district of Astbury contained a population of three thousand four hundred. Under an act known as ‘Sir Robert Peel’s Church Extension Act’, which was designed to make better provision for the spiritual care of populous parishes, the church of St. James was born.

The Church consists of Nave, Side Aisles and Chancel, with a porch at the northern end and a bell-cot surmounting the western end of the Nave roof.

Other closely associated chapelries also lying within Astbury ancient parish included the chapelries of Congleton St Peter and St Stephen's, Mossley Holy Trinity, Buglawton, Rode, Smallwood, and Somerford; together with several places of worship for dissenters, in the parish.[2]

Resources

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241249.

Church Records

Congleton St James parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Congleton St James Parish (1844) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1844-1886
1849-1906

FS PR's 1844-1909
  NONE
1849-1934
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S 1886-1894
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

Parish registers for St. James, Congleton, Cheshire, 1844-1957

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records(formerly Record Search)

Cheshire Record Office number: P210/1/1-5, 2/1-5, P210/5142/1, P210/5273/1-5.

Contents Film
Baptisms 1844-1901; Marriages 1849-1894. FHL BRITISH Film
1655831 Items 2 - 6
Marriages 1893-1908 FHL BRITISH Film
1655851 Item 1
Baptisms, 1901-1925 Marriages, 1908-1948 FHL BRITISH Film
2093667 Items 11-15
Baptisms, 1925-1957. FHL BRITISH Film
2106997 Item 11
Banns of marriages, 1849-1923. FHL BRITISH Film
2147233 Items 4 - 8
Non-Conformist Churches

Non-Conformist Records:

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Congleton

Poor Law Unions

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Websites

Congleton on Genuki

Congleton St James on Genuki

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 18 Jan 2013
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 100-104. Adapted. Date accessed: 01 July 2013.
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

Bibliography

Title History of Congleton: published to celebrate the 700th anniversary of the granting of the charter to the town
Congleton History Society
Authors W. B. Stephens, Congleton History Society
Editor W. B. Stephens Publisher Manchester University Press ND, 1970
ISBN 0719012457, 9780719012457

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:45.
  • This page has been accessed 2,813 times.