Congleton St Stephen, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to  Congleton St Stephen, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Congleton St Stephen, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Northwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Congleton PLU
Registration District Congleton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Middlewich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CONGLETON, is an incorporated market-town, a chapelry, and the head of a union, in the parish of Astbury, having a separate jurisdiction, locally in the hundred of Northwich, S. division of the county of Chester. The chapel, dedicated to St. Peter. At Congleton Moss, a church was dedicated to the Holy Trinity it was erected in 1845. Two districts or ecclesiastical parishes have been formed under Sir Robert Peel's act: in the one, St. Stephen's district, a chapel has been purchased from the dissenters, in the other, St. James', a church. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics. [1]

Congleton St Stephen was formed as separate parish (a chapelry) in 1845 from Congleton St Peter and formed at similar period to St James.

St. Stephen's church consists of nave, chancel, aisles, bell-turret, and vestry, in the early decorated style, and was built in 1860.

Other closely associated chapelries to St Stephen's and also lying within Astbury ancient parish included the chapelries of Congleton St Peter and St James, Mossley Holy Trinity, Buglawton, Rode, Smallwood, and Somerford; together with several places of worship for dissenters, in the parish.[2]

Resources

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241249.

Church Records

Congleton St Stephen chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Congleton St Stephen Chapelry (1844) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1844-1909
  NONE
1860-1934
  NONE
1860-1932
  NONE
FS BT'S    NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

Title Parish registers of St. Stephen's Church, Congleton, 1844-1958 
An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Record Search

St. Stephen's Church is one of three chapelries in Congleton township. The township is in Astbury Ancient parish.
Cheshire Record Office call number: P 232/1/2. 

Content Film
Baptisms, 1844-1860, 1896-1936 (filmed twice). Marriages, 1860-1926. FHL BRITISH Film
2197357
Baptisms, 1860-1896. FHL BRITISH Film
2326898 Item 2
Baptisms, 1860-1896 (another filming). FHL BRITISH Film
2356823 Item 3
Marriages, 1926-1958. Burials, 1860-1932. FHL BRITISH Film
2197434 Items 1 - 4
Non-Conformist Churches

Refer to Congleton St Peter page.

Non-Conformist Record:

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  •  Congleton (1837–1937)
  •  Macclesfield (1937–74)
  •  Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  •  South Cheshire (1988–98)
  •  Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

  • Congleton

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Websites

Congleton on GENUKI[1]

Congleton St Stephen on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 18 Jan 2013
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 100-104. Adapted. Date accessed: 01 July 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 November 2014, at 03:54.
  • This page has been accessed 3,398 times.