Conkling Park, IdahoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Contents

County Courthouse

Kootenai County Courthouse
PO Box 9000
501 Government Way
Coeur d'Alene, ID 83816-9000
Phone: (208) 769-4441
Fax: (208) 667-8534

Created in 1864, but not organized until 1881.
County Clerk has birth and death records 1907-1912
marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1881. [1]

Census


For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.
For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.

The 1890 federal census for Idaho was destroyed. However, the Idaho State Archives is creating a list of 1890 Idaho residents by indexing a variety of records, 1885-1894. This reconstructed list will substitute for the destroyed 1890 federal census. Shoshone County is included in this reconstructed census.

Resources

The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Conkling Park, Idaho entries with names, images, or information.


Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Kootenai County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Coeur d'Alene[2].

Cemeteries

There are many cemeteries in Kootenai County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Kootenai County, Idaho Cemetery Records.

For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.

Church

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)
  • The following are local congregations (wards) which existed in ___ County, Idaho prior to 1950.
  • 1864--Kootenai County was created 22 December 1864 from Nez Perce County. County seat: Coeur d'Alene

County Commissioners' Records

The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.

Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.

Court Records

Some of the early court records of Kootenai County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library's Family History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Kootenai County courthouse in Couer d'Alene, and can be accessed by making a visit there.

Some of the records of the courts of Kootenai County that have been microfilmed include:

  • Court records, 1881-1905; journal, 1905-1927
  • Kootenai County, Idaho criminal index, 1881-1970
  • Power of attorney, 1883-1943; index, 1891-1988
  • Register of actions, 1886-1929; index, 1893-1948


Judgment Books

  • Judgment records, 1882-1933 
  • Judgments, 1884-1885 
     
     

History

A History of Kootenai County with brief accounts of some towns is available at the official Kootenai County website.

Two digitized books are available online at archive.org:

A descriptive booklet, written c. 1896, The Kootenai country : Fort Steele, Libby Creek, Yakt, Rossland, Nelson, Kaslo, Slocan, Montana, Idaho, British Columbia, reached by Great Northern Railway from the east and west is available at Montana Memories.

Land and Property

Kootenia CO., Landscape near Coeurd Alene, Image 352, (LandsCdA).jpg
Land and Property records are generally recorded in the county courthouse of the county in which the transaction took place. For original records of Kootenai County, Idaho, one may visit the courthouse in Couer d'Alene, Idaho.

The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed many county records of Kootenai County and these can be accessed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City has microfilmed numerous records pertaining to land and property, and can viewed in the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers.

Maps

Military

Civil War

The 1890 Census Veterans Schedules for Fort Sherman are available on roll 118 of "Special Schedules of the Eleventh Census (1890) Enumerating Union Veterans and Widows of Union Veterans of the Civil War" (NARA M123). The schedules list veterans and their widows who served as Union soldiers in the Civil War. For more information on the 1890 Veterans Schedules see Union Census Records.

WWI

World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Kootenai County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm numbers 1452216 and 1452217) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.

Other Records

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has microfilmed Military Discharges Recorded in Kootenai County, Idaho, (1865-1989) and Discharge Records (1917-1927) copies of which can be viewed at the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers.

Miscellaneous Series

Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.

Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Kootenai County. The originals are held in the Kootenai County courthouse in Couer d'Alene, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Records of the naturalization of people born outside of the United States were often kept in the county courthouses of the respective counties of Idaho. Kootenai County naturalization records, 1882-1939, are included in a Naturalization Index at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, available online.

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City has microfilmed several Kootenai Naturalization and Citizenship records which may or may not add to the records found in the Idaho State Archives. These films can be accessed in the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers.

Newspapers

Current
Historical

Pension Records

Old Age Pensions were provided by the State of Idaho from 1931 to 1936. The original papers for several counties have been transferred to the Idaho State Archives in Boise and have been indexed. Kootenai County Old Age Pensions are included in that index.

Probate

Existing probate records are usually housed at the county courthouse in the county in which the transaction took place, therefore, Kootenai County records should be available for viewing in the Couer d'Alene, Idaho courthouse.

The Family History Libraryhas microfilmed some early Kootenai County probate records which are available at the Library in Salt Lake but also in their affiliate Family History Centers.

The Idaho State Archives has also microfilmed many early Kootenai probate records and these can be viewed at the Archives in Boise, Idaho.


School Records

The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed some school census records from Kootenai County (1898-1910) which can be viewed at their headquarters in Boise, Idaho.

Taxation

Inheritance Tax Records (1908-1911) have been microfilmed by the Family History Library in Salt Lake. These records are available at the Family History Library and their affiliate family history centers.

Vital Records

Births

The Birth Registers for Kootenai County, 1907-1911, have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in Kootenai County are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under the subject Idaho for more details.

Birth and Christening records from Kootenai County (3227) may be found among the Idaho Births and Christenings online

Marriage

Nearly 13,500 marriages, 1881-1938, are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.

There are 11,931 marriages from Kootenai County online in the Idaho Marriages.

Deaths

The death registers for Kootenai County, 1907-1911 have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City, Utah.

After 1911, deaths occurring in Kootenai County are included in the state-wide registration program. These records are restricted for a period of fifty years from the time of the individual's death but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under Idaho for details.

Copies of death certificates from 1911-1954 are on microfilm and can be used at the Idaho State Archives, the Family History Library and several other locations.

A state-wide index to Idaho Deaths, 1911-1956 is available online. Efforts to expand this index to 1960 are underway. Another version is the US Genweb Idaho Death Index 1911-1956.

There are 948 deaths or burials in Kootenai County among the Idaho deaths and burials which are online.

Societies and Libraries

Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.

  • Coeur D'Alene Public Library
    702 E Front Ave
    Coeur D'Alene, ID 83814
    Phone: (208) 769-2315
    Website
  • Post Falls Public Library
    821 N Spokane
    Post Falls, ID 83854
    Phone: (208) 773-1506
    Website
  • Kootenai-Shoshone District Library
    8385 N Government Wy
    Hayden, ID 83835
    Phone: (208) 772-5612
    Website
  • Kootenai County Genealogical Society
  • Museum of North Idaho
    P.O. Box 812
    Coeur d'Alene, Idaho 83816-0812
    208-664-3448


Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kootenai, Idaho page 178, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
|}

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 18:23.
  • This page has been accessed 436 times.