Connecticut CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  go to  U.S. Census  go to  Connecticut  go to  Census

Contents

Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.


  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online Connecticut indexes and images

1900-1940

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Connecticut 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - - - - - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link Link
1930 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1900 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1840-1880

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Connecticut 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1870 indexes Link - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1860 indexes Link - Link Link Link Link Link Link Link
images - Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1850 indexes Link - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1840 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1790-1830

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Connecticut 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1830 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1820 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1810 indexes Link - - Link  - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1800 indexes Link - - Link  - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1790 indexes Link - Tran-
script
Link  - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


Federal population schedules

Microfilm images

Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
1940 N/A 1910 and Soundex 1870            
1930 1900 and Soundex 1860
1920 and Soundex 1880 and Soundex 1850
  1790 


Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1940 N/A 1910 T624 1860 M653         1820 M33 
1930 T626 1900 T623 and Soundex T1036 1850 M432 1810 M252
1920 T625 and Soundex M1553 1880 T9 and Soundex T739 1840 M704 1800 M32
  1870 M593 1830 M19 1790 T498  


Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Connecticut, click here

Federal non-population schedules

Online indexes and images

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Connecticut

Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Record Search Census Bureau Google Book Heritage Quest Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home
1880 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1870 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1860 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1850 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1840 Pensioners Link BookLink BookLink - Link Link Link

Microfilm images

Family History Library Federal Census Non-Population Schedule Microfilms for Colorado

  • 1880 mortality census FHL 234537
  • 1870 original returns of the assistant marshals and mortality census  FHL 234536item 3
  • 1860 original returns of the assistant marshals, mortality census  FHL 234536item 2


National Archives Federal Census Non-Population Schedule Microfilms for Colorado

  • 1935 Census of Business
  • 1820 Census of Manufactures

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Connecticut, click here.

State, territorial, and colonial censuses

Connecticut took censuses earlier and in the years between the federal censuses, the dates are listed below. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.

  • 1917 The Connecticut State Library also has a special military census taken in 1917.
  • 1821 Glastonbury school census[8]
  • 1782 statistics only[8]
  • 1779 statistics only[8]
  • 1776 Newington[9]
  • 1774 statistics only[8]
  • 1762 statistics only[8]
  • 1756 statistics only[8]
  • 1669-1670 Hartford, Wethersfield, and Windsor grain inventory census[10] For a reconstructed census of over 2,300 heads of families recorded in tax lists and other records see Jay Mack Holbrook, Connecticut 1670 Census (Oxford, Mass.: Holbrook Research Institute, 1977)[FHL Book 974.6 X2h 1670].

Existing and lost censuses

For a list of available and missing Connecticut censuses, click here.

Why use a census?

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:


Sources and footnotes

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 5.7 5.8 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. 8.0 8.1 8.2 8.3 8.4 8.5 Connecticut State Library, "Research Guide to Colonial and State Census Records at the Connecticut State Library" at http://www.cslib.org/colcens.htm#10 (accessed 11 January 2010).
  9. Josiah Willard, A Census of Newington, Connecticut : Taken According to Households in 1776 (1909; reprint, Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1986)[FHL Book 974.62/N2 X2p; Film 823814 Item 3].
  10. Connecticut State Library, "Research Guide to Colonial and State Census Records at the Connecticut State Library" at http://www.cslib.org/colcens.htm#10 (accessed 11 January 2010), citing The Wyllys Papers, Collections of the Connecticut Historical Society, volume 21 (1924), pp. 190-199 [CSL call number HistRef F 91 .C7 vol. 21].

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 September 2012, at 02:11.
  • This page has been accessed 12,970 times.