Connecticut DirectoriesEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Directories are alphabetical lists of names and addresses. City directories can help you learn where an ancestor lived. The person’s occupation is frequently given. Often the home address and business address are both mentioned. When a husband dies, many times the widow is listed as "widow of...."
Directories can help you determine which jurisdictional ward the family lived in if you are searching census records for a particular time period in a big city. Directories sometimes have maps and addresses of churches, cemeteries, courthouses, and other important locations.
Resources for Connecticut Directories
Libraries and Archives
The Connecticut State Library, the New Haven Museum and Historical Society, the New England Historic Genealogical Society, the Library of Congress, and the American Antiquarian Society have useful collections of city directories.
Ancestry.com ($) has Connecticut directories available online in its U.S. City Directories collection.
The Family History Library
The Family History Library has directories of major cities in Connecticut. Two examples of the library's holdings are:
|1799-1860||Family History Library fiche 6043938-76|
|1861-1935||Family History Library film 1376910—|
|1967, 1973, 1974-75||Family History Library book 974.62 E4p|
|1840-1861|| Family History Library fiche 6044225-45|
|1861-1935||Family History Library film 1377137—|
|1909, 1938, etc.||Family History Library book 974.67 E4p|
- US City Directories This web site identifies printed, microfilmed, and online directories and their repositories.
- This page was last modified on 12 September 2012, at 02:19.
- This page has been accessed 1,082 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More