Burton Constable, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Constable Burton, Yorkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.pngNorth Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Constable Burton

Guide to Burton Constable, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burton Constable, Yorkshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Hang
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Leyburn PLU
Registration District Leyburn
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Finghall
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Catterick
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Burton Constable was created as a chapelry of Finghall, Yorkshire Ancient Parish in Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Studdow. .

BURTON-CONSTABLE, a hamlet, in the parish of Swine, union of Skirlaugh, Middle division of the wapentake of Holderness, E. riding of York, 8 miles(N. E.) from Hull; containing 71 inhabitants.[1]

ALSO

BURTON-CONSTABLE, a township, in the parish of Fingall, union of Leyburn, wapentake of Hang West, N. riding of York, 4¼ miles (N. E.) from Middleham; containing 252 inhabitants. [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Burton Constable exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
BURTON CONSTABLE CHAPELRY (1***) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None

None

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Swine to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the SWINE PARISH page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is INVALID/MISSING FHL number.

Poor Law Unions

Leyburn Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 448-452. Date accessed: 15 November 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 448-452. Date accessed: 15 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,847 times.