Contra Costa County, CaliforniaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go toCaliforniago to Contra Costa County

Guide to Contra Costa County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg California
Online Records


Contra Costa County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting Contra Costa County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1850, February 18
County Seat Martinez
Courthouse
Address Contra Costa County
 730 Las Juntas St;
PO Box 350;
Martinez, CA 94553;
Phone. 925.646.2360
Contra Costa County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Recorder has birth and death records; County Clerk
has marriage, divorce, probate and court records[1]

Historical Facts

Contra Costa County began in 1850 as one of the original counties in the new state of California. Located in the East Bay area, San Pablo Bay and Suisun Bay partially surround the land area of the county and have contributed to the economy since the gold rush. 

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Contra Costa County, California

Parent County

18 February 1850: Contra Costa County was created as an original county. County seat: Martinez [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

  • Antioch
  • Brentwood
  • Clayton
  • Concord
  • Danville
  • El Cerrito
  • Hercules
  • Lafayette
  • Martinez
  • Moraga
  • Oakley
  • Orinda
  • Pinole
  • Pittsburg
  • Pleasant Hill
  • Richmond
  • San Pablo
  • San Ramon
  • Walnut Creek

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography - Indexes

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

Public Records

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

A wiki article describing an online collecion is found at: California, Genealogical Collections at the California Genealogical Society (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Indexes

Peroidicals

Contra Costa Genealogical Society directory & Periodical

History

Local histories are available for Contra Costa County, California. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Indexes

Histories

Land and Property & Maps

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps


Cacontracosta.png

Migration

Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers and Indexes

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Contra Costa County, California newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Contra Costa - Probate records.

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

County Courthouse

Family History Centers

Societies

San Ramon Valley Genealogical Society serves local genealogy enthusiasts. Monthly meetings are held at the Danville Family History Center in Alamo, California on the 3rd Tuesday at 10am.

Taxation

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Divorce

Death

  • Death records, 1873-1921
  • Contra Costa County maintains records of death certificates from 1905 to present. You can obtain an informational copy for a fee by mailing the Application for Death Record from the county clerk's website with your payment. As with other counties, you only need to get the form notarized if you want a certified copy. Informational copies do not need a notary.

Voting Registers

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Web Sites


A wiki article describing this collection is found at:

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Contra Costa County, California. Page 84 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:28.
  • This page has been accessed 15,499 times.