Conway County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Conway County
Cedar Falls Trail, Petit Jean State Park Conway County, Arkansas

Guide to Conway County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County QuickStart:


Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records
Conway County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Conway County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 20, 1825
County Seat Morrilton
Courthouse
Address Conway County Courthouse
117 South Moose Street;
Morrilton, AR 72110
Phone 501.354.9621

Contents

County Courthouse

Conway County Courthouse
117 South Moose Street;
Morrilton, AR 72110
Phone 501.354.9621

County Clerk has marriage records from 1858 and probate records. The Clerk Circuit Court has divorce
and land records.[1]

Beginning years for Conway County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1858 1914* 1842 1825 1837
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

  • 1825--Conway County was created 20 October 1825 from Pulaski County. County seat: Morrilton [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog'

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Faulkner  • Perry  • Pope  • Van Buren  • Yell

Conway CountyFaulkner CountyPerry CountyYell CountyPope CountyVan Buren CountyCleburne CountyPulaski CountySaline CountyJohnson CountyNewton CountySearcy CountyStone CountyARConway (2).jpg

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Biographies

Cemeteries

Online Conway County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Conway County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Church records vary greatly, depending upon the the record keepers and beliefs of the church. They may give: a member's dates of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information, maiden name; and death date. For more information, see Arkansas Church Records.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can 1) place an ancestor in a specific location, 2) provide economic information, 3) reveal family relationships, and more.

After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse in the form of deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, and others.

See Arkansas Land and Property for more about online collections and early Arkansas land grants and patents from the government to private ownership.

History

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

  • Park, Hugh. Historical reminiscenses and biographical memoirs of Conway County, Arkansas. Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1976.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • Ancestors of the Quapaw Indians may have lived in the county.
  • 1803 - Up to about 1803 Conway County’s early settlers came by way of the Arkansas River and included trappers, traders, and fugitives.
  • 1803 The county was under French and Spanish rule before the Louisiana Purchase put it under American control.
  • 1825 October 20 - Conway County was created by the Arkansas General Assembly.
  • 1817-1828 - Tthe Western Cherokee occupied a reservation in Arkansas that included a great deal of Conway County.
  • 1828 - The Cherokee in Arkansas signed a treaty swapping this reservation for lands west of the territorial border.
  • 1872 - The Little Rock and Fort Smith Railroad was completed through the county.
  • 1910 - The population of Conway County hit its peak.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Conway County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Conway County, Arkansas:


- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company I
- 10th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 36th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies F and I

Men from this county served in the 1st Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate),[4] Company I; 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[5] , Companies A, B, C, D, G, H, K, and L; 31st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and G.[6]

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Conway County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

  • Records 1826-1937 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian bonds and letters 1859-1904; Probate record index 1840-1873; Probate records 1837-1886; Wills 1826-1937.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Conway County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Societies

Conway County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 865
Morrilton, Arkansas 72110
E-Mail: conwaycountygenealogy@yahoo.com

River Valley Genealogy Societyl Researchers interested in CONWAY, FAULKNER, PERRY, POPE, YELL AND VAN BUREN COUNTIES.
Farm Bureau Building
201 E. Shady Lane
Morrilton, Arkansas

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Conway County, Arkansas
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Conway County, Arkansas
genealogy.com Conway County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Conway County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 67.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Desmond Walls Allen, First Arkansas Confederate Mounted Rifles (Conway, Ark.: privately published, 1988), 2.
  5. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry (Conway, Ark.: privately published, 1987), 33-92.
  6. Ronald R. Bass, History of the Thirty-first Arkansas Confederate Infantry (Conway, Ark.: Arkansas Research, 1996), 12.
  7. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 December 2014, at 19:10.
  • This page has been accessed 13,363 times.