Cooling, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngKent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes


Guide to Cooling, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Cooling, Kent
Cooling St James Kent.jpg
Cooling St James Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shamwell
County Kent
Poor Law Union Hoo PLU
Registration District Hoo
Records begin
Parish registers: 1707
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COOLING (St. James), a parish, in the union of Hoo, hundred of Shamwell, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 6 miles (N. by E.) from Rochester. [1]


Cooling St James is a redundant Anglican church on the Hoo peninsula in the Medway district of Kent and was an Ancient Parish.

The church is designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage and dates from 13th-15th century with 19th century restoration.British Listed Building

The church is now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust and open to visitors; the churchyard contains a group of children's graves which are widely believed to have inspired Charles Dickens description of the church yard in the opening of Great Expectations.St James Church Cooling Wikipedia and Churches Conservation Trust

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was part of Hoo sub district  Chatham Registration District

and registrations from July 1837 to the present day are held at

Medway district
The Register Office
Northgate
Rochester
ME1 1LS
Telephone 01634 338902
Fax 01634 338913
register.office@medway.gov.uk

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Cooling, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[6]
Cooling, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1842
1816-1837

FMP
1719-1837

FREG 1707-1976
1712-1956
1708-1977
IGI 1719-1763, 1780-1812 1719-1763, 1780-1812
MED 1707-1977 1707-1977 1707-1977

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Census records

Census Returns for Cooling 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Hoo Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 682-685. Date accessed: 15 July 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  6. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2014, at 17:32.
  • This page has been accessed 2,678 times.