Cooper County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Cooper County

Guide to Cooper County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Cooper County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 17, 1818
County Seat Boonville
Courthouse
Address Cooper County Courthouse
200 Main Street
PO Box 123
Boonville, MO 65233-0123
Phone: 660.882.2626
Cooper County Website

Contents

County Court House

 

County Clerk has birth and death records 1883-1893
and burial records; Circuit Clerk has marriage,
divorce, court and naturalization records from 1819
and land records from 1812; Associate Circuit Court
has probate record from 1828[1]

History

Parent County

1818--Cooper County was created 17 December 1818 from Howard County. County seat: Boonville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Boone  • Howard  • Moniteau  • Morgan  • Pettis  • Saline

Cooper CountyMonroe CountyRandolph CountyLafayette CountyCarroll CountyChariton CountySaline CountyHoward CountyBoone CountyAudrain CountyCallaway CountyMaries CountyOsage CountyMiller CountyMorgan CountyMoniteau CountyHenry CountyJohnson CountyCole CountySt. Clair CountyBenton CountyCamden CountyPettis CountyMOCooper.jpg


Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Cooper County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

St. Peter and Paul, Boonville

  • 1850-1876 - St. Peter and Paul, Boonville, Baptism Index 1850-1876. Batch C511771 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1851-1876 - St. Peter and Paul, Boonville, Marriage Index 1851-1857, 1867-1876. Batch M511771 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cooper County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

A history of Cooper County, Missouri from the first visit by white men, in February, 1804, to the fifth day of July, 1876 by Levens and Drake (1876) is available online free from Google Books.

Maps

Mocooper.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company E
:- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
:- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
:- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
:- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
:- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
:- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
:- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
:- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
:- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
:- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
:- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
:- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Detached Company
:- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company A
:- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company B
:- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company F
:- 9th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company I

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War Battle was fought in Cooper County

June 17, 1861 = Boonville[4] also known as First Battle of Boonville

Map showing Civil War battles in Missouri

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cooper County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1819-1867 - Cooper County Birth Index, Volumes A thru C, 1819-1867. Batch C514821 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1868-1872 - Cooper County Birth Index, Volume E, 1868-1872. Batch C514822 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1883-1884 - Cooper County Birth Index 1883-1884. Batch C514825 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
Deaths
  • Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
  • 1883-1884 - Cooper County Death Index 1883-1884. Batch B514827 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Cooper County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Cooper County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Cooper County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Cooper County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Cooper County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Cooper County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cooper County, Missouri. Page 399 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 3.6 3.7 3.8 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August 2012)

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 July 2014, at 18:54.
  • This page has been accessed 7,269 times.