Coos County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Coos County

Guide to Coos County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Coos County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Coos County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 22, 1853
County Seat Coquille
Courthouse
Or-coos-ch.jpg
Address Coos County Courthouse
250 N Baxter Street
Coquille, OR 97423
Phone: 541.396.3121
Coos County Website


Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth and death records 1906-1929, marriage records from 1857, land records from 1854, widows’ military pensions 1929-1950 and some school records; State Courts have divorce and probate records. [1]

Records Held at the Courthouse

  • Record Loss:

Quick Facts

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Coos County, Oregon
Named after a tribe of Native Americans who lived in the area.

Trivia Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.

Parent Counties

22 December 1853: Created from Umpqua and Jackson Counties. [2]

Boundary Changes

18 December 1855: Part was taken to form Curry County.

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Bandon | Coos Bay | Coquille | Lakeside | Myrtle Point | North Bend | Powers

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Allegany | Arago | Barview | Bunker Hill | Charleston | Remote

Neighboring Counties

Curry | Douglas

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

  • 1855 Territorial Transcription and Index
  • 1857 Territorial Transcription and Index
  • 1858 Territorial Transcription and Index
  • 1860
  • 1870
  • 1880
  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Lutheran
  • Records of First Norwegian Lutheran Church, North Bend, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Court Records

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Maps

Orcoos.jpg

Military History and Records

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.


Historic Oregon Newspapers http://oregonnews.uoregon.edu/ as a division of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program has digitzied more than 644,000 pages of newspapers throughout Oregon. Dates range from 1846-1922 with selected issues continuing through 1973.


Of particular interest to Coos county researchers:


The Bandon Recorder
Semi-Weekly Bandon Recorder

Probate Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

Coos County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coos County, Oregon page 572, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  3. "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 17:50.
  • This page has been accessed 13,569 times.