Coosa County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Coosa County

Guide to Coosa County, Alabama ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Coosa County, Alabama
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 18, 1832
County Seat Rockford
Courthouse
Coosa County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Coosa County Courthouse
Main Street
Rockford, AL 35136
Phone (205) 377-4988
Coosa County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Probate Records Office has a few birth and death records 1920-1945
Marriage, Probate, Land and Military records from 1834
Circuit Court Records from 1834 [1]

History

Parent County

Coosa County was formed from the Creek Cession of 1832 so does not have a parent county.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Fire.png
Coosa County had destructive courthouse fires in 1900 and 1925.[2] [3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Alcoosa.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Biography

Biographies of many notable residents of Coosa County, Alabama were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Begins on page 722.

Cemeteries


Additional Coosa County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1, Vol. 2, and Vol. 6 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

  • Ivison, Hazle R. Collins. Index to Alabama Cemeteries: Blount County, Coosa County, St. Clair County, Talladega County, Winston County. n.d. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Census

Coosa County, Alabama
Year Pop.  %±
1840 6,995
1850 14,543 107.9%
1860 19,273 32.5%
1870 11,945 −38.0%
1880 15,113 26.5%
1890 15,906 5.2%
1900 16,144 1.5%
1910 16,634 3.0%
1920 14,839 −10.8%
1930 12,460 −16.0%
1940 13,460 8.0%
1950 11,766 −12.6%
1960 10,726 −8.8%
1970 10,662 −0.6%
1980 11,377 6.7%
1990 11,063 −2.8%
2000 12,202 10.3%
2010 11,539 −5.4%
Sources: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml.  through 1960


For tips on accessing Coosa County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Land and Property

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Coosa County, Alabama see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Coosa County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2008. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.159 E7b.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Coosa County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps

  Military 

Civil War

Civil War service men from Coosa County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Coosa County.

- 2nd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company G
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I "Wetumpka Light Guards"
- 8th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B "Governor's Guards"
- 12th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B "Coosa Volunteers"
- 13th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H
- 18th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D (Coosa Farmers)
- 34th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B and C
- 46th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A
- 46th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B
- 47th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H
- 59th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C and K
- 60th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B




Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Coosa County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Coosa County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Coosa County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

  • Hull, Edward F. Early Records of Coosa County, Alabama, 1832-1860: Wills, Administrations and Marriage Records. n.d. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Coosa County is in District 2.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry– ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1832-1860 - Hull, Edward F. Early Records of Coosa County, Alabama, 1832-1860: Wills, Administrations and Marriage Records. n.d. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • 1834–1848, 1878–1901, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry– ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1834–1847; 1878–1900 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920"at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry– ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.

Voting Registers

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.  Coosah County has one book.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coosa County p. 36. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Marilyn Davis Barefield, Researching in Alabama: a Genealogical Guide (Birmingham, Alabama : Birmingham Public Library, 1998), 25. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 976.1 D27b 1998.
  3. Images for Coosa County, Alabama in CourtHouseHistory.com: A Historical Look at Our Nation's County Courthouses through Postcards (16 March 2014).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 32,692 times.