Copiah County, MississippiEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Mississippi
Copiah County
Guide to Copiah County Mississippi genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Contents |
County Courthouse
Copiah County Courthouse
PO Box 507
Hazlehurst, MS 39083
Phone: 601.894.3021
Clerk Chancery Court has divorce records from 1840,
probate and land records from 1825 and confederate
veterans records.
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1825 and court records. [1]
History
Parent County
1823--Copiah County was created 21 January 1823 from Hinds County.
County seat: Hazlehurst [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Copiah County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.
- 1822 - 1822 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1824 - 1824 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1825 - 1825 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1841 - 1841 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1845 - 1845 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1853 - 1853 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1880 - 1880 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1878 Enumeration of Educable Children avaialbe for free on FamilySearch (other years also available). Listing of locations and approximate image start number available here. Images also available online from the Mississippi Archives.
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of Copiah County, Mississippi (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
- Civil War service men from Copiah County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Copiah County.
- - 3rd Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
- Company K - McWillie Blues
- - 4th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
- Company A - Terrall [Terrell] Dragoons
- Company B - Copiah Horse Guards
- Company E - Ramsey’s Company
- - 6th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
- Company F - Crystal Springs Guards
- Company G - Rockport Steel Blades
- - 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Old)
- Company H - Bahala Rifles
- - 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Old)
- Company I - Bahala Rifles
- - 12th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
- Company A - Charlie Clark Rifles [also listed as Co. H]
- Company D - Pettus Relief, aka Pettus Rifles
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information see Mississippi Taxation.
- 1823-1899 - County Tax Rolls, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Vital Records
Marriage
- 1823-1921 - Copiah County Marriage Books A-K and 1-25 Index 1823-1921 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- County website: http://copiahcounty.org/
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Copiah County, Mississippi page 379, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/ce/Igimississippia.pdf.
| This Mississippi-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 May 2013, at 21:44.
- This page has been accessed 2,115 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More