Cople, BedfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Parishes

Guide to Cople, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cople, Bedfordshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Willey
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Bedford PLU
Registration District Bedford
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COPLE, is a parish in the district and county of Bedford; on the river Ouse, it is 1½ miles E of Cardington railway station, and 3½ miles ESE of Bedford. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241196.

Church records

Cople, Bedfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
GIBBS = Bedfordshire Parish Registers by Steven Gibbs - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
Cople, Bedfordshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG

1801-1870
GIBBS
1837-1901

IGI 1561-1865 1563-1837
NBI

1562-1933
PALL
1790-1812

  • To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • Bedford

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Cople on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp.682-685. Date accessed: 07 November 2013
  2. 'Bedfordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 April 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Bedfordshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  4. 'National Burial Index - Bedfordshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:34.
  • This page has been accessed 1,407 times.