Coppenhall, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Coppenhall

Guide to Coppenhall, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

COPPENHALL (St Michael & All Angels), is  a parish, in the union and hundred of Nantwich, S. division of the county of Chester; it is 5 miles (N. E.) from Nantwich. The Liverpool and Birmingham railway extends for nearly 2½ miles in the parish, the Chester and Crewe railway for a mile and a half, and the Crewe and Manchester for nearly two miles.  There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Coppenhall St. Michael & All Angels is an ancient parish, originally serving the townships of Church Coppenhall and Monks Coppenhall.

Coppenhall Church is now within the Coppenhall area of Crewe, Cheshire, England. The church is a Grade II listed building. It is an Anglican parish church in the Diocese of Chester, the Archdeaconry of Macclesfield and the Deanery of Nantwich.

A timber-framed church was built on the site around 1373. The civil parish includes the hamlets of Maw Green, Merrills Bridge and Sydney.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241247.

Church records

Coppenhall St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Coppenhall St Michael Parish (1579) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1869-1901
1870-1876


FS PR's 1652-1909
  NONE
1653-1921
  NONE
1653-1857
  NONE
FS BT'S 1663-1900
  NONE
1605-1844
  NONE
1605-1960
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Coppenhall, 1653-1935 Cheshire Record Office call number: P19/1/1-4, 2/1-3, P19/3266/1/1-2, P19/3/1-6, P19/3266/2/1-2, P19/4.

Cheshire parish registers are available online  at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Parish registers Contents FHL Film
Marriages, 1653-1754. Baptisms, burials, 1653-1812. Baptisms, 1813-January 1865. BRITISH
2093671 Items 3 - 8
Baptisms, October 1864-1935. Marriages, 1754-April 1863. BRITISH
2093672
Marriages, March 1863-1921. Burials, 1813-1857. BRITISH
2093673

Bishop's transcripts for Coppenhall, 1579-1900 Early entries in Latin. Cheshire Record Office number: WDB 71.

Cheshire, Church of England, bishop’s transcripts are available online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Bishop's transcriptsContent FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1579, 1595, 1600, 1605, 1607-1610, 1612-1618, 1620-1623, 1626, 1628-1631, 1636-1637, 1639, 1641, 1653, 1665, 1667-1681, 1687, 1689-1690, 1693-1705, 1709-1757, 1759-1776, 1775, 1777-1788, 1791-1837, 1844. Baptisms, burials,1839, 1843, 1846-1847, 1850--1857, 1887-1890, 1892-1895. Baptisms, 1891. BRITISH
1655596 Item 3
Baptisms, burials, 1891, baptisms, 1900, baptisms, burials, 1896-1900. BRITISH
1655597 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Presbyterian
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Nantwich (1837–1937)
  •  Crewe (1937–74)
  •  Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  •  South Cheshire (1988–98)
  •  Cheshire Central (post1998) The post 2009 reorganisation of civil registration can be found online at Cheshire BMD

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 22 Jan 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

Bibliography

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 189, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 4,056 times.